First Name
Kyle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Toyota Tundra
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
So I’m wanting to get a Bronco and I’m also wanting to get a camper around the same time. I’m looking at a camper that is 2400-2800 lbs. I can’t imagine all the other gear being more than a couple hundred pounds. I’m new to campers and hauling for 5-6 hour long trips. I haul my boat but only short trips with my Tundra. I’ve heard of the 90% rule but wanted to ask. Will the 3500 lb tow capacity be able to handle a 2400-2800 lb camper in the mountains(obviously I’ll try to stay on the lighter side). I plan on getting a WDH and a brake controller wired. If it comes down to it I may also look at getting air bags.

And If it really really comes down to it my wife may keep my Tundra and we will trade in her car.
Sponsored

toymaster

Badlands
First Name
Leonardo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Badlands
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
^^^^ Factory rating numbers have a large safety factory built in. You are extremely safe towing whatever numbers they assign. Think of it this way in 20-30 years from now, the vehicle has to be able to do those numbers or it is a liability issue for the manufacturer.

Mke_80

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Renegade
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
So I’m wanting to get a Bronco and I’m also wanting to get a camper around the same time. I’m looking at a camper that is 2400-2800 lbs. I can’t imagine all the other gear being more than a couple hundred pounds. I’m new to campers and hauling for 5-6 hour long trips. I haul my boat but only short trips with my Tundra. I’ve heard of the 90% rule but wanted to ask. Will the 3500 lb tow capacity be able to handle a 2400-2800 lb camper in the mountains(obviously I’ll try to stay on the lighter side). I plan on getting a WDH and a brake controller wired. If it comes down to it I may also look at getting air bags.