Big Bend
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 VW Jetta
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Clubs

Okay I am new to the soft top world. My truck is full of rock salt and disgustingly dirty (I am in NJ). What’s the protocol for car washes? I’d love to baby it with a gentle hand washing but not in the middle of winter with temps below 20 degrees outside. TIA!
Sponsored

1stBroncoBase

Base
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Base Bronco (Ordered)
Your Bronco Model
Base
Okay I am new to the soft top world. My truck is full of rock salt and disgustingly dirty (I am in NJ). What’s the protocol for car washes? I’d love to baby it with a gentle hand washing but not in the middle of winter with temps below 20 degrees outside. TIA!
Good question, my wife just asked me the same...

Cwill79

Base
First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Tundra
Your Bronco Model
Base
Clubs

I’m still waiting on my Bronco, and I’ll be new to the soft top world as well. How well does the soft top hold in heat? I’m in KY, so if you’re warm in NJ, surely I’ll stay warm here. Lol

cigartexan

First Edition
First Name
Jack
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1964 F100 SS - 2012 F-350 SD - 2021 4D Bronco FE
Your Bronco Model
First Edition
Clubs

No touch-less carwash in your area? I would not run softie through a brush wash!

Snydermann

First Name
Tim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Samurai, VW Thing, MINI, smart, Astro Van
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
I've never used an automatic wash on a convertible and I've had a dozen over the years. I don't trust the cheap detergents they use, or the mechanism. I seldom use anything but water and a soft brush. Haartz (who supplies Ford top material) also advises against using detergents.

Suck it up and hit it with the hose at a manual wash station. Bring a small step ladder.

Sponsored

JediMcMuffin

Badlands
First Name
Tommy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco Badlands
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs