Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Base
Clubs

Hello,
Im new to the industry, do the ford rock rails serve and do the same purpose as something like N-fab Rock sliders?
Are they the same?
Please help
Sponsored

babraunagel

Badlands
First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Toyota FJ Cruiser
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Rock rails and rock sliders are different names for the same thing. Generally rock rails are attached to the frame of an off-road vehicle, however Ford has installed the Bronco rails at the pinch weld and state that it can support the entire weight of the vehicle should it get hung up on a boulder.

mike8675309

Base
First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Bronco ManSquatch, 2023 Chevy Silverado
Your Bronco Model
Base
It depends. The stock rock rails tuck close to the body and work well for some use cases. Some aftermarket units are both wider (to provide some use as a step) and a little deeper providing a little more help from rocks, but also cutting into the ground clearance a little bit.

Mattwings

Badlands
First Name
Matthew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Badlands Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

I think hard core rock crawlers will prefer frame mounted options, but so far my factory rails have done a great job of protecting the rocker panels and acting as a pivot on rocks and stumps (within reason). Note- I am in an area dominated by sand and our exposure to rocks is not nearly as extreme as other terrain.

Reactions: LCW

Murph56789

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Broncos/F350s
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs