Sponsored

Help With Lockers, Bumpers and Stuff Requested (Base vs BD?)

30ips

Base
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Not a Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Base
So, I am not a professional off road dude. I did grow up spending a lot of time driving jeeps and 4WD vehicles off road, on beaches etc. I’ve had a Wrangler or two and I’ve done a lot of deep sand and minor off-road things. I have zero experience rock crawling. Except on a motorcycle, and that’s not crawling, that’s a whole other thing.

I am trying to decide between the base and the Black Diamond. And I don’t know enough to make an informed decision, and I‘d appreciate guidance. One caveat: I’m not planning on building a crazy off-road rag. This will be my daily driver as well as something I can get out into the sticks in on weekends and vacations.

I completely understand what lockers do, and I understand the difference between that and an LSD, but never having driven a vehicle with a locker I’m not sure if it’s something that will make a difference in the sort of driving I’ll personally be doing. Which, as I said, probably involves few rocks, but a lot of sand and/or mud stuff. Think soft beach, think Everglades-type areas in Florida, think muddy woodsy areas, think snotty rooty woods, think sandy two-track. Are lockers a substantial advantage there? Conceptually I‘d think yes, but I don’t have the experience to know.

Often I think I might be better off buying the base and just getting some good tires for the sorts of areas I want to be driving. At the same time, lockers sound cool. The concepts sounds cool if you know what I mean.

And then there’s the whole bumper thing. I’ve never installed a winch, though a few times with my Wrangler I wished I’d had one. So, being a bit of a loner, I’m thinking I’ll probably want one on my bronco. Can I mount one on the base bumpers, or do I need to replace them with steel bumpers?