First Name
William
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Challenger Scat Pack
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
That sounds like artificial inflation personally but I'm no economics professional. It makes no sense that any item should cost more when made here at home than in a sweatshop 5000 miles away when you take into consideration getting it here and distributed. I was always taught consumers decide an item's value and demand while the manufacturer drives supply. If the consumers say they want a product (automobile), but the maximum amount the consumer will pay for any brand new automobile is $40k, guess what has to happen? Prices have to fall in order to get the consumer to buy it. So really all that has to happen to drive auto prices down is a majority of people to say that the max price of any new automobile shall not exceed $40k. I know, that's very idealistic but we can dream can't we lol?
That’s a great thought but people also want to make $36 an hour to work a drive through window so unfortunately it doesn’t add up lol.
Sponsored

OP
OP
North7

North7

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
SUV
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
Clubs

In my second life I worked for a huge company. They always has 2-3 manufacturers for the same item just in case one had production problems. I figured Ford, or any other large corporation would do the same if possible. However, my company never had to deal with the black plague sweeping the world.
The problem with electronics, many components are vendor specific, unlike something simple, say like the memory chips in your PC, that are generic and designed to the same spec across brands. In custom designed electronics, built for various purposes, many circuit specific chips are not generic, like CPU's, they have their own unique interfaces, electrical signals, timing, interrupts, etc. etc. You cannot just design an electronic product with one vendor's chips and swap out another vendor's chips.