Sponsored

Bay Area Broncos

Here we go with the new G.O.A.Tā€™s of the bay!!
omg_bbq
I have a few hours free this Saturday or Sunday and I'm itching to get the bronco dusty. Who has recommendations for literally anything nearby, I'd say within an hour and a half generally of the Bay Area. I'll take a dirt road this point šŸ˜…
Show full message
Sewie
Sewie
Not sure where in the Bay you are, but besides Hollister, the closest parks are Frank Raines OHV (Patterson), Carnegie (Tracy), and Knoxville (Napa). A little further out are Prairie City and South Cow Mountain. Not really any trails or decent fire roads that I'm aware of in that radius. If you don't mind driving further, Old Coast Road down by Big Sur is easy and has great views.
omg_bbq
omg_bbq
I'm in Oakland, thanks for these suggestions. I'm pretty new to off-roading but want to get out there when I am able, do you have opinions about the parks you named? Like least crowded, easiest for beginners etc. @Sewie
Kai
Kai
Daktari
Daktari
there's some off road park in Livermore, but I think it's mostly (only?) for ATV and dirt bikes etc, been meaning to call them and find out. I'd be happy with just some practice hills and obstacles to play and try the different modes and settings, but don't want to get in the way of faster vehicles. Also prefer to make a fool of myself w/o much of an audience :-D

There is also off roading at Stonyford off highway vehicle park in Mendocino Natl Forest, but I don't know if or how much of that got burned last year, been meaning to find out. Oddly can't find all that much online about either of these.
Reactions: omg_bbq
Sewie
Sewie
@Daktari You might be thinking of Carnagie. Used to be mostly bikes, but they've expanded their 4x4 areas.
Daktari
Daktari
@Sewie yes, could not think of it's name. Since it's close I think I'll go check it out sometime during the week, see what's there and play a bit.
@BadBlueBronco
@BadBlueBronco