Sponsored

7MT 4.46 Upgrade - How to add lockers and new gearing?

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2.3L 7MT Bronco, Lamborghini Urus, McLaren 765LT
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Hi everyone,

I have a big bend 4D 2.3L with the 7MT and 3.73 gears. I really want to turn this into a better off-roader but I am also new to the off roading world and am looking for advice. What do I need to do in order to get a locking front/rear diff and shorter gearing? Do I need to do them all at once? Can I do the gearing first, do I need to do both the front and rear diff at the same time? Like I said I am a noob, and am looking for advice!

Edit: 4.46 gearing, not 3.73 :)
Sponsored

Last edited:

kodiakisland

Black Diamond
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
12 Tacoma, 18 Indian, 23 GV70
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

Right now it is very limited on what can be done with the front diff. Your best option currently is getting the 4.46 gear set/carrier for the front from Ford and adding a Torsen or Trutrac LSD to the rear with 4.46 gears. The gear sets are welded to the carrier in the open diffs, so you will need to do both gear and locker at the same time.

As far as doing both front and rear at the same time, yes if you want to use 4WD, no if you keep it in 2wd. If you only do the rear and forget and put it in 4wd, it will be an expensive mistake. But yes, you can do one at a time as long as it never goes into 4wd while they are mismatched.

grayshadow

Black Diamond
First Name
Charles
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

Sale it and order you one that already has those items. It will be to costly and time consuming to modify that one.

1970AMCAMX

Base
First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
F150, AMC AMX, DF Goblin
Your Bronco Model
Base
Hi everyone,