First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
QX56
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
I'm a bit new to the Bronco world but I'm confused about a couple of Raptor features.

A lot of work went into the Raptor suspension and it is quite impressive. It is also quite wide which was always a problem with long arm suspensions on otherwise street vehicles.

My first question is about the rear shock placement. With all the custom bracketry that went into the Raptor, why is the lower shock mount below the axle? The front has nothing below the lower control arm so this looks particularly onerous.

Ford Bronco A couple of Bronco Raptor suspension questions PSX_20220125_014104

The next question is why they didn't use a triangulated rear suspension. To the best of my knowledge, this is common for off-road pickups, Rock bouncers, and solid rear axle Ultra4s. Allows horizontal location without a track bar. The main reason long arm kits for Jeep wranglers don't have it is that the Jeep's fuel tank is in the way. Was that also a problem on the Bronco? That fuel tank also is a problem with using the Ford Sterling 10.5 inch rear axle on a Wrangler. A triangulated suspension is common in kits for XJ Cherokees and WJ Grand Cherokees.

This picture shows the Genrite suspension for the JK Wrangler with double triangulation. Note that the fuel tank has been moved to the back. This kit is very very expensive.

Ford Bronco A couple of Bronco Raptor suspension questions Screenshot_20220125-013247_Chrome

2022 Ford Bronco Raptor_chassis_ 04.jpg
Sponsored

swooshdave

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Placing the lower shock mount below the axle allows for additional shock travel without having the top of the shock in the interior.