Auxiliary Switches - alternative location?

NonfatWombat

Wildtrak
Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2020
Messages
67
Reaction score
173
Location
Trophy Club, TX
Vehicle(s)
'14 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon; '17 Ford Focus SEL
I may have overlooked an image that already answers this question (so many out there now):

Where are the auxiliary switches located on the Base, BB, OB, WT, & FE?





Advertisement

 

Paint

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jack
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
1,778
Reaction score
6,164
Location
Oklahoma
Vehicle(s)
Tundra
Vehicle Showcase
1
They're optional and they only go in the overhead.
 
OP
NonfatWombat

NonfatWombat

Wildtrak
Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2020
Messages
67
Reaction score
173
Location
Trophy Club, TX
Vehicle(s)
'14 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon; '17 Ford Focus SEL
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
They're optional and they only go in the overhead.
That's kind of what I thought. Although, the breakdown chart shows them standard on the Wildtrak and First Edition too but it doesn't specify "overhead console" like the Black Diamond or Badlands.
 

jehines3

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
John
Joined
Oct 15, 2020
Messages
59
Reaction score
122
Location
Easton, MD
Vehicle(s)
Toyota Highlander & Lincoln MKC
Has anyone confirmed how far these aux switches are wired into the Chassis? Is there a location under the hood or in the rear cargo area that you pick up from? The concept is awesome. I just don't know how ford does this in the commercial line-up and if the bronco will be the same?
 

jboes13

Badlands
Active Member
First Name
Joshua
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
37
Location
Van Wert Ohio
Vehicle(s)
Fusion Hybrid
If it is anything like their super duty aux switches. The wires will be cut and shrink wrapped underneath the steering wheel(just above gas/brake pedal).Typically tucked up in there just enough to stay out of the driver's feet. Sorry if that is an overly confusion description. Best I could think of at the moment lol
 

damarble

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
2,393
Reaction score
6,866
Location
Spokane
Vehicle(s)
01 Sport Trac, 13 Edge, 09 Focus, 07 Explorer
Clubs
 
Alternative location? The Filson put them here, even with the OEM aux switches equipped. Things that make you go hmmm.

PXL_20201023_200216802.PORTRAIT-02.ORIGINAL.jpg
 

Tarjea

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Tj
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
168
Reaction score
188
Location
Jacksonville, Florida
Vehicle(s)
Explorer
Clubs
 
Has anyone confirmed how far these aux switches are wired into the Chassis? Is there a location under the hood or in the rear cargo area that you pick up from? The concept is awesome. I just don't know how ford does this in the commercial line-up and if the bronco will be the same?
If it is anything like their super duty aux switches. The wires will be cut and shrink wrapped underneath the steering wheel(just above gas/brake pedal).Typically tucked up in there just enough to stay out of the driver's feet. Sorry if that is an overly confusion description. Best I could think of at the moment lol
They're wired up all they way into the engine bay in their own box ready for use.
 

ZackDanger

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Zack
Joined
Jul 8, 2020
Messages
2,530
Reaction score
10,405
Location
Massachusetts
Vehicle(s)
2014 Wrangler JKU
Clubs
 
If the AUX switches are not included, a sunglasses holder goes in its place.
 

dck82

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
Jul 28, 2020
Messages
83
Reaction score
270
Location
Memphis Metro
Vehicle(s)
Chevrolet Colorado
Clubs
 
If the AUX switches are not included, a sunglasses holder goes in its place.
I’d rather have the sunglasses holder.

Edit: with the top off I’d want to lock them in the center console so I guess it doesn’t matter.
 

Chrome_Pony

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Chrome
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
160
Reaction score
527
Location
The Great Land
Vehicle(s)
2017 LWN Duramax Z71
Alternative location? The Filson put them here, even with the OEM aux switches equipped. Things that make you go hmmm.

PXL_20201023_200216802.PORTRAIT-02.ORIGINAL.jpg
That's some home-hobbyist-level electrical shit. Gross. Broncos deserve better than Hazard Fraught.

If you don't want to pony up for AUX switches and can find space the Feniex Mini 4200 will give you six switches for about ~$100 to work with with two of them also having strobe capability. I run them in my Colorado for auxiliary lights with a couple doing double duty as plow flashers.

ABhegjO.jpg


If there's a downside, it's that the head unit doesn't power up on ignition, and requires a manual press, but that's also how to switch from standard operations on Circuits 1 and 2 to strobe on 1 and 2.
 

Silver-Bolt

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
383
Reaction score
481
Location
Portland, OR
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ford Raptor
The Aux switches on the Raptor have two connection points. For items inside the cabin there is a set of wires terminated behind the glove box. For outside the cabin there is a set of wires terminated near the firewall on the passenger side.
 

JesseS

Black Diamond
Well-Known Member
First Name
Jesse
Joined
Jul 18, 2020
Messages
660
Reaction score
1,023
Location
Northern California
Vehicle(s)
Jayco AY26, Honda F6B, CR-V
Clubs
 
The Aux switches on the Raptor have two connection points. For items inside the cabin there is a set of wires terminated behind the glove box. For outside the cabin there is a set of wires terminated near the firewall on the passenger side.
I was hoping they would terminate in a waterproof box under the hood with relay sockets and a pre run power wire.... But that is to much to hope for I guess.
 

Silver-Bolt

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
383
Reaction score
481
Location
Portland, OR
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ford Raptor
I was hoping they would terminate in a waterproof box under the hood with relay sockets and a pre run power wire.... But that is to much to hope for I guess.
They are connected to fuses/relays. All you do is make sure the accessory you are installing is grounded. Connect the power wire from your newly installed accessory to the Aux-Switched wire and you are done. The amp rating on the Aux switches varies. 2ea 15 amp, 2ea 10amp and 2ea 5 amp.
 

JesseS

Black Diamond
Well-Known Member
First Name
Jesse
Joined
Jul 18, 2020
Messages
660
Reaction score
1,023
Location
Northern California
Vehicle(s)
Jayco AY26, Honda F6B, CR-V
Clubs
 
They are connected to fuses/relays. All you do is make sure the accessory you are installing is grounded. Connect the power wire from your newly installed accessory to the Aux-Switched wire and you are done. The amp rating on the Aux switches varies. 2ea 15 amp, 2ea 10amp and 2ea 5 amp.
Well, that is the way it is supposed to be done, but the way Ford has been doing this roll out I wouldn't be surprised if you had to add your own relay's and fuses. But one change I will make is to replace the fuses with auto resetting circuit breakers of the same amperage.
 

Raptor911

Wildtrak
Well-Known Member
First Name
Raptor911
Joined
Jun 17, 2020
Messages
1,185
Reaction score
2,489
Location
Ashburn, VA
Vehicle(s)
2019 Raptor, 2018 BMW M2
sir ... you don’t know what you are taking about. Ford had been using Auxiliary switches for over 10 years in their trucks and they are awesome.

I have no idea why everyone on this forum just assume the worst. No manufacturer would put switches into their vehicle and then expect you to run power and fuses to them.

please relax.

Well, that is the way it is supposed to be done, but the way Ford has been doing this roll out I wouldn't be surprised if you had to add your own relay's and fuses. But one change I will make is to replace the fuses with auto resetting circuit breakers of the same amperage.
 

Advertisement





 


Advertisement
Top