First Name
Troy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 JKU, 2018 Panamera
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
I recently got a GoPro and took it with us on some trails in Colorado. I will be doing some threads here as I get the videos done so we can start building a library of trails that might be of interest. I'm a beginner at putting videos together but they should at least give you an idea of what each trail is like.

First up is Black Bear Pass!

Black Bear Pass is a bucket list trail located in Colorado between Ouray and Telluride. It is not a particularly challenging trail from the technical perspective. If the weather is good you could do this trail in a four wheel drive pickup truck. You do, however, need to drive extremely carefully in the “Steps” and switchback parts of the trail or you can absolutely kill yourself.

Black Bear Pass road starts out relatively tame. You are driving through beautiful country. There is nothing quite like the majestic sites out west. You will reach Black Bear Pass itself in about 3 miles. It is 12,840 ft high. This is a great opportunity for photos and to stretch your legs before continuing towards the switchbacks. You will pass through more beautiful country for another 5 miles or so until you get to The Steps. This is where it gets interesting. The Steps and switchbacks are the subject of this video.

The entrance to the switchbacks is a relatively narrow off-camber section of rocky road with limited visibility of what lies ahead known as The Steps. There is a drop-off to your left with a small river/stream. At the bottom of this section there is a tame switchback that takes you to a waterfall that makes another great photo op. We also walked across the trail and had lunch looking down on Telluride while listening to the rushing water of the nearby falls.