Joseph
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 Honda Accord Coupe
Your Bronco Model
Raptor
Clubs

Being the first vehicle that I’d consider driving not on the street, do you think there’s a typical break in period for going off road? I don’t plan on doing anything extreme with the Bronco very early on, but curious if any one has any tips on not pushing the truck too much within its first miles or first time adventuring to the mountains or the beach.
Thanks!
Sponsored

Boston182

First Edition
First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Harley Davidson Sportster
Your Bronco Model
First Edition
Clubs

Can't say for sure, but a lil' about my take...

I never was mechanically inclined until I started riding motorcycles. After my first bike, I learned what engine-break-in was and why it matters. I now take this seriously because the piston rings being broken in well, along with everything else in the engine, really determines the performance and longevity, as well as inhibits future maintenance.

That said, I'm gonna keep my first 500ish miles pretty tame. I don't think anything else needs to be delicate after that. And that's just the engine. Everything else on the vehicle should be able to take a hit right away, but if you're keeping tame for the sake of the engine for 500+ miles, the rest should be fine too.

Fubl

Black Diamond
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
01 buick lesabre
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

See I've seen it both ways. Especially with oil consumption. Certain cars that were ragged in early no issues then others that were babied plenty. And vice versa. It's unfortantly one of those items that won't really show it's ugly head for a couple years or till people extra high mileage on them. The only constant seems to be that sitting in traffic is the worst thing you can do for these newer engines

dangerzone79

Black Diamond
First Name
O- -O
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Black Diamond & 1972 Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond