First Name
Nick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2010 WRANGLER THAT GEICO SPENT $14K FIXING
Your Bronco Model
Base
Found this post extremely interesting in regards to solid axle vs. IFS, and where Ford is coming from with their design. I’m by no means a suspension expert and had never even heard of VCI, but Erik Latranyi who wrote the posts said I was welcome to share his posts over here. Thanks to him and should be a good discussion!

I was just chatting with the former Jeep suspension engineer who consulted on the Bronco and Bronco Sport.

Ford stayed out of the way and let the engineers do their job. The Bronco Badlands VCI is better than a Wrangler.

VCI is Vehicle Cone Index....an engineering term created by the US military and used to quantify how well a vehicle is able to traverse soft terrain (mud, soft soil, sand, loose rock, snow, loose dirt).

The primary driver of a good VCI is tires, of course. Just as we see the difference in using All-Season tires to Snow Rated tires on any vehicle. The secondary driver is the suspension's ability to keep the tires in contact with the ground, and with the proper downward pressure on each tire so the tire treads can do their job. The third driver is the ability of the AWD/4WD system to provide power equally. Lockers came as a result of discovering mechanical 4WD alone was insufficient for a high VCI.

Jeep designers always used VCI as a check of their work. Until the Daimler era, every Jeep needed to be able to traverse the Rubicon Trail without assistance of a tow strap. VCI was one means of predicting how well a vehicle could accomplish this. In fact, Chrysler scanned and then re-created a section of the Rubicon Trail at Auburn Hills, Michigan proving grounds so they could test vehicle capability in secret.