Brak
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep wrangler
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

So my Bronco is being built next week, and I have all kinds of questions about the buying process, since I am a VA resident, buying from MI.

I can’t be the only Virginian to buy a bronco out of state. I’m looking to be educated by someone that has already gone through the process.

1. Should I expect to pay VA sales tax, or MI sales tax at the time of sale?

2. Am I still on the hook to pay use tax on the vehicle when I register it in VA on top of the sales tax? (I’ve never bought a car in VA, and don’t know how this works… seems like the state would be double dipping then)

3. should I be paying the titling fee in MI, or VA if the vehicle is to be registered in VA?

4. Should I expect the dealership financial officer to know all of this?

5. Can plates be transferred to the new car from a vehicle trade in when done at an out of state dealership?

Thanks guys! Looking forward to understanding this process better.
Sponsored

JoshuaPrieto

Big Bend
First Name
Joshua
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco, 2022 Explorer, 2022 F-150
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
1. If you buy your vehicle in MI, you'll pay 4.15% in taxes for VA.

2. You will need to consult someone who has bought a vehicle in VA for other taxes due at the time of registration, or call your local DMV; Your Michigan dealer is only responsible for collecting the 4.15% in sales tax.

3. You'll pay a $10 License Fee and $24 CVR fee in Michigan and you'll receive a 15-day Temp Plate; or you'll get a MSO and in-Transit Plate good for 30 days on delivery day if your dealership has it. If you don't receive the MSO the day of delivery, it should be mailed to you by your dealership.

4. Your dealership should have answers to all of these questions.

5. Most dealers wont do the transfer for you, much easier if you handle that yourself.