Can SYNC 4 recalibrate speedometer?

sliwa

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Matthew
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
93
Reaction score
119
Location
Michigan
Vehicle(s)
Ford Focus
I’m still driving something with Sync v01, so I was blown away with the capabilities of Sync in the Sport that I test drove (Sync 3, or did the Sport get 4 also?).

With everything that Sync seems able to do now, is there any reason why it doesn’t have the ability to update tire size and recal the speedometer? Doesn’t seem like it would be beyond the capabilities of the system, but is there something else I’m not considering??





Advertisement

 

Mattwings

Big Bend
Well-Known Member
First Name
Matthew
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
1,545
Reaction score
3,491
Location
Northville, MI
Vehicle(s)
2018 F150
Vehicle Showcase
1
Clubs
 
Sync doesn't have anything to do with the speedo calibration. That's part of the power train control modules somewhere. Forscan or other OBDII tools can recalibrate the speedo. I have one that has the capability, but you have to pay "extra" for the software I believe.
 
OP
sliwa

sliwa

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Matthew
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
93
Reaction score
119
Location
Michigan
Vehicle(s)
Ford Focus
Makes sense, but still seems odd to me that one system in a truck can’t communicate with the other. 🤷‍♂️
 

ZackDanger

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Zack
Joined
Jul 8, 2020
Messages
4,846
Reaction score
20,243
Location
Massachusetts
Vehicle(s)
2014 Wrangler JKU
Clubs
 
Makes sense, but still seems odd to me that one system in a truck can’t communicate with the other. 🤷‍♂️
I think the opposite. Way safer to silo these systems.

Could you imagine if Apple CarPlay froze, and as a result your turn signals stopped working?

;)
 

2Jeeps&PatriotX1

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
1,825
Location
Denver, CO
Vehicle(s)
‘18 GC Trailhawk, ‘05 LJ, ‘17 F150 3.5 Screw
Forscan is your solution. Have sync 3 in my truck. Looking forward to the sync 4 system.
 

wilbersk

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Sean
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
62
Reaction score
82
Location
Grand Junction, CO
Vehicle(s)
2008 Jeep Wrangler
This seems weird to me, because on discount tires website it says most new cars can calibrate the speedometer using the head unit.
 

vrtical

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Doug
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
1,737
Reaction score
3,608
Location
TN
Vehicle(s)
Fords
Clubs
 
its all good except when you dont encrypt the data traffic on the canbus.
 

Laminar

Black Diamond
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2020
Messages
596
Reaction score
1,449
Location
Iowa
Vehicle(s)
Cougar
Makes sense, but still seems odd to me that one system in a truck can’t communicate with the other. 🤷‍♂️
They can communicate. They're all on a shared CANbus. But Ford didn't implement a way to modify PCM and IPC tire size settings via the entertainment system.

This seems weird to me, because on discount tires website it says most new cars can calibrate the speedometer using the head unit.
This isn't true. I Googled around a bit and apparently some Tacomas can do this? But every other method I found for calibrating the speedo involved an aftermarket tuner or a dealer-only program.

On further review, maybe you're referring to this:

https://www.discounttire.com/learn/speedometer-accuracy

Most modern vehicles can have the tire diameter changed in the vehicle computer, which will recalibrate the speedometer properly.
"Vehicle computer" - not the head unit or entertainment system, but the PCM/ECU. Modifying this requires an aftermarket or dealership tuning tool. Or for Fords, you can edit it using a laptop with Forscan.
 

wilbersk

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Sean
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
62
Reaction score
82
Location
Grand Junction, CO
Vehicle(s)
2008 Jeep Wrangler
They can communicate. They're all on a shared CANbus. But Ford didn't implement a way to modify PCM and IPC tire size settings via the entertainment system.



This isn't true. I Googled around a bit and apparently some Tacomas can do this? But every other method I found for calibrating the speedo involved an aftermarket tuner or a dealer-only program.

On further review, maybe you're referring to this:

https://www.discounttire.com/learn/speedometer-accuracy



"Vehicle computer" - not the head unit or entertainment system, but the PCM/ECU. Modifying this requires an aftermarket or dealership tuning tool. Or for Fords, you can edit it using a laptop with Forscan.
Thanks for the clarification on that!
 

Advertisement





 
fifteen52


Advertisement
Top