TXscooterguy

Black Diamond
Well-Known Member
First Name
Dennis
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Threads
20
Messages
156
Reaction score
275
Location
Bedford, TX
Vehicle(s)
1969 Corvette Convertible
Bronco
Black Diamond
Clubs
 
Does anyone make a no-splice 4-pin wiring harness for a '22 Black Diamond. I got a total of 4 3/4 fingers and doing tiny pin swaps on connectors could be rather challenging. It would make me smile if I can avoid having to do modifications to the harness.


Advertisement
 

1970AMCAMX

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Robert
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Threads
17
Messages
583
Reaction score
1,326
Location
Titusville, FL
Vehicle(s)
F150, AMC AMX, DF Goblin
Bronco
Base

805BaseSquatch

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Jan 9, 2022
Threads
12
Messages
107
Reaction score
91
Location
SoCal
Vehicle(s)
F150, Chevy Bolt
Bronco
Base
Clubs
 
@VoltageDrop
I’m in the middle of the install of the curt harness on my basesquatch.
Two questions for you. How did you remove the interior trim panel? I feel like I might break something.. EDIT found the answer for the trim panel.

Also what is the floating red wire you were grounding? I’m only wiring a 4 pin if it makes a difference. I only see one red wire that goes to the driver’s side plug it doesn’t split to the other side.
 
Last edited:

VoltageDrop

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Eric
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Threads
14
Messages
1,164
Reaction score
3,197
Location
Arkansas
Vehicle(s)
04 Cummins, 69/21 Broncos
Bronco
Base
Vehicle Showcase
1
Clubs
 
@VoltageDrop
I’m in the middle of the install of the curt harness on my basesquatch.
Two questions for you. How did you remove the interior trim panel? I feel like I might break something.. EDIT found the answer for the trim panel.

Also what is the floating red wire you were grounding? I’m only wiring a 4 pin if it makes a difference. I only see one red wire that goes to the driver’s side plug it doesn’t split to the other side.
That's only done if you're using the LED Curt kit for a halogen Bronco. If you have the new kit for the halogen (non LED) lights then I would assume no wiring changes are needed so you leave that red wire alone. I haven't seen the new kit so someone else will have to confirm.
 

805BaseSquatch

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Jan 9, 2022
Threads
12
Messages
107
Reaction score
91
Location
SoCal
Vehicle(s)
F150, Chevy Bolt
Bronco
Base
Clubs
 
That's only done if you're using the LED Curt kit for a halogen Bronco. If you have the new kit for the halogen (non LED) lights then I would assume no wiring changes are needed so you leave that red wire alone. I haven't seen the new kit so someone else will have to confirm.
I have the old kit, ordered it before Curt came out with the new one.
I’m looking at the wiring again and found the red wire you were talking about. It has a stripe on it
 

Advertisement

805BaseSquatch

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Jan 9, 2022
Threads
12
Messages
107
Reaction score
91
Location
SoCal
Vehicle(s)
F150, Chevy Bolt
Bronco
Base
Clubs
 
Any reason not to ground to the bolt circled in blue here? Behind the taillight
1A012C9A-A70B-4A96-AE5D-4AF7FF4028AA.jpeg


6FF0EAF0-2B3C-439A-9010-676B207535C6.jpeg
 

dgorsett

Big Bend
Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Threads
19
Messages
2,640
Reaction score
5,239
Location
colorado
Vehicle(s)
F250, Mustang, Explorer
Bronco
Big Bend
Clubs
 
I was an early adopter of the Curt 4 wire when we still had to do the pin swap, all good now.

Question for those with knowledge: I flat tow. Is there any reason I cannot 'stack' a Curt flat tow harness with my 4 wire trailer set up? And should I plug it in on the taillight side or vehicle side of the set up?

Debating doing this, adding a bulb or sticking with my clamp on lights I'm using now.
 

1970AMCAMX

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Robert
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Threads
17
Messages
583
Reaction score
1,326
Location
Titusville, FL
Vehicle(s)
F150, AMC AMX, DF Goblin
Bronco
Base
Just for information, I ordered the Tekonsha wiring kit back in November of '21 before they made the kit specifically for non-LED tailights. I called etrailer last month and told them and even though it had been 8 months they went ahead and let me return and exchange it.
 

Petey

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Threads
8
Messages
536
Reaction score
1,412
Location
Minnesota
Vehicle(s)
Honda
Bronco
Badlands
Has anyone with the original LED Curt’s kit have LED lights (Badlands) and notice that the rear lights won’t turn on at night or show left or right turn signals? It’s also clicking on the dashboard very quickly when the turn signal isn’t working.
 

805BaseSquatch

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Jan 9, 2022
Threads
12
Messages
107
Reaction score
91
Location
SoCal
Vehicle(s)
F150, Chevy Bolt
Bronco
Base
Clubs
 
Has anyone with the original LED Curt’s kit have LED lights (Badlands) and notice that the rear lights won’t turn on at night or show left or right turn signals? It’s also clicking on the dashboard very quickly when the turn signal isn’t working.
I have the halogen lights, modified the led kit, and am having the issue with the rapid turn signal.
 

Advertisement

Petey

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Threads
8
Messages
536
Reaction score
1,412
Location
Minnesota
Vehicle(s)
Honda
Bronco
Badlands
I have the halogen lights, modified the led kit, and am having the issue with the rapid turn signal.
Yeah I’ve completely disconnected mine. The turn signals and rear light illumination was completely out.
 

Jeffal

Black Diamond
Well-Known Member
First Name
Jeff
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Threads
1
Messages
55
Reaction score
111
Location
North AL
Vehicle(s)
Bronco
Bronco
Black Diamond
Clubs
 
That's only done if you're using the LED Curt kit for a halogen Bronco. If you have the new kit for the halogen (non LED) lights then I would assume no wiring changes are needed so you leave that red wire alone. I haven't seen the new kit so someone else will have to confirm.
I have the new Curt kit for the halogen tail lights (Black Diamond). The kit is plug and play. No mods necessary. Installed with no issues.
Advertisement

 

 
Top