First Name
Eric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco Badlands
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
I have a chance to camp on the beach the weekend. It’s called Oceano Dunes near Pismo in California. You can drive you vehicle right into the beach.

We have a 2021 Bronco Badlands 4-door. I’ve read that you should air down your tires to drive on sand. Is it necessary if I use the Sand mode? I am NOT good with mechanical stuff and would be afraid of damaging my tires or something else airing down then trying to inflate them again. Like pop them or go too low..I can’t exaggerate how mechanically disinclined I am. It is really intimidating, and air pulps also look expensive.

can I drive without airing down, or will I get stuck or cause other problems? It is a regular beach, and I will not go i to the dunes, just the beach front. Thank you for your advice.
Sponsored

E. Davis

Big Bend
First Name
Eric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT Velocity Blue
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
My recommendation would be to practice this most basic of mechanical tasks and build your confidence in doing such things. Can you use a can opener in the kitchen? Can you twist a peanut butter jar lid open and closed? If so, you can adjust the air pressure in your tires. No special tools needed. Maybe for your first day at the beach, let 5psi out of your tires (to practice). Then you still have plenty of air to get to the next fill station and re-inflate without doing any harm at all.

I would also recommend building upon your newfound mechanical skill and learning how to change a tire. Yes, modern roadside assistance is great, but there may come a time / place where you need to do this.

broadicustomworks

Badlands
First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 Z71, 06 VTX1300, 94 Cobra, 21 BL Bronco 4dr.
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs