Sponsored

Extended Warranties: To buy or not to buy?

Ed Morris

Badlands
First Name
Ed
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Try refusing some dealerships' "generous offers" of an extended warranty and you'll get to hear them tell you all about how unreliable their own cars are, how you really NEED to protect yourself because the model you're buying is such utter crap it's been known to break down as soon as it's driven home from the showroom. Their sales pitch is so incongruous it's hard to decide if it's funny or just pathetic. ;-)
Sponsored

linbackr99

Wildtrak
First Name
Todd
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Raptor Crew
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
I am a high mileage driver. My '10 Raptor had 100k, my 2012 12 had just shy of 140k, my 14 had 155k and my 17 currently has a shade over 110k . . . I did purchase the extended on the '17 because of the first gen and worries about the uncertainly of all that torque added to the 3.5 . . . it paid off as I needed am phasers at 79k and valve covers and oil pan at 90K - not brutally expensive repairs but by the time I paid and rented a vehicle it would have been in the $6000.00 ballpark . . . the extended care gets me to 120k and was @5k extra BUT it also was a special where it lowered my APR by 2% so it did not make much difference in the payment.

However - because I typically keep a vehicle 36 payments - which I try to make in 30 months (ish) I will not be purchasing the extended warranty on the Bronco. I will still put a bunch of miles on but now that I my home is in Vermont 12 months of the year (I was back and forth between the Dallas/Ft Worth area until a year ago) I won't be stacking quite as many miles . . . so the 36/60 will be okay.

Atomicdog

Base
First Name
Eddie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Your Bronco Model
Base
Clubs