Sponsored

Garage Door Opener - Using Aux Switches?

How do you open your garage door today?

• Total voters

ZipZit

Badlands
First Name
Zip
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Escape, 2008 Mazda3
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
So, there was a thread on garaging your Bronco that got me thinking. What is the best way to deal with a garage door opener?

My current state:
Liftmaster / Chamberlain style garage door opener.
I use a small remote, similiar to this:
Ford Bronco Garage Door Opener - Using Aux Switches? garage door remote sml

It's always bothered me that I have to deal with this thing. I know its a slight worry, that someone would steal the remote from the vehicle when parked downtown, look at my address on registration and use that to break in the house later.

I thought, how cool to be able to use an extra overhead Upfitter and use it to open the garage door. No more remote to deal with, nothing to lose or get stolen?

And I'm a tech engineer geek. How hard would that be?
  • I started looking at circuits to convert a toggled On-Off switch to a trigger a simple pulse output.
  • My thought was to add a 555 timer and a few circuit items to the guts of that remote and mount it in the engine compartment somewhere.
  • The more research I did, the more folks were strongly recommending just using a wifi switchable system.
  • Wifi ? Hmmm...
The one cool thing about wifi is it would be possible to check remotely if the garage door was open. Am I the only person to drive away from home, then 15 minutes later think... wait... did I shut the garage door? That requires the use of my mobile phone but that is ALWAYS with me anyway.

And that got me thinking... er wait a minute.... Ooops.

Ford Bronco Garage Door Opener - Using Aux Switches? garage door opener2

Er, yeah. That's an actual photo of my garage door opener as installed. Big oops.