Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
04 Ford F-150, 06 Roush Mustang
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Clubs

From my understanding if the Bronco is in 4A, if a wheel is slipping it will engage the 4WD but if nothing is slipping it should remain in 2WD . In 2H it will only be in 2 wheel no matter what. Is that correct?

I lifted my Bronco and when in 2H everything is fine, but when I click 4A and under slight acceleration I have a drive line vibration. I can replicate it very easily. I'm just trying to diagnose the situation and trying to see how exactly the systems work.

Thanks in advanced for any help.
Sponsored

Ser Arthur Dayne

Wildtrak
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
This is a question I have asked multiple times on here and have not been given a good answer.

It's very important to me because it goes to 4A in Sport Mode. I have very little ACTUAL mechanical knowledge, but I do know you don't use 4WD on pavement ... but some people put it in Sport Mode all day every day.

I understand 4A is not Full-Time FWD but still.

Anyway good question.

PWillette

Badlands
First Name
Parrie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'08 F250 Super Duty, '01 SS Camaro, '21 Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
4A is basically AWD...when in 4A under normal conditions the drive train is in 2wd (RWD) as you state. Under slippery conditions power will automatically be distributed as needed to the front and/or rear wheels independently...it's an active system that changes with conditions vs. just 4WD (4H).

drew707

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Explorer
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
From how I’ve understood it, 4A primes the transfer case to be ready at a given moment to engage the front driveline. Essentially the transfer case is engaged vs being just passive in 2H.

This would explain what you might be feeling.

VelocityBronco

Badlands
First Name
E
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)