Is there a built in cutoff for Aux Switches?

Jhuff

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
J
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
288
Reaction score
418
Location
Michigan
Vehicle(s)
Toyota Tacoma and DR650
Bronco
Badlands
Every time I think about the aux switches, I imagine children and drunk passengers flipping the switches and causing problems.

I don't have a Bronco in hand to tinker with, but am wondering if there is any way to disable the switches?

If there is no way to do this, provided by Ford, I may have to dedicate one of the Aux switches to controlling a big relay that powers the rest of the switches (or maybe even a separate switch on the drivers side).
Advertisement

 

AKBronc49

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
First Name
Russ
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
868
Reaction score
2,530
Location
Anchorage, Alaska
Vehicle(s)
11 F150,02 Excursion,06 Chrysler 300C,21 Bronco
Bronco
Outer Banks
No, The switches (in other Ford applications anyhow) are ignition hot with the option of switching two of them to battery hot. But if the ignition is on the switch will activate.

I've never heard of this being an issue and since I work at a vehicle upfitter and utilize these switches all day every day for multiple items but mostly lighting.
 

604Bronco

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
3,984
Reaction score
12,245
Location
British Columbia
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Bronco
Bronco
Badlands
No, The switches (in other Ford applications anyhow) are ignition hot with the option of switching two of them to battery hot. But if the ignition is on the switch will activate.

I've never heard of this being an issue and since I work at a vehicle upfitter and utilize these switches all day every day for multiple items but mostly lighting.
I know this is a bit off topic, but you're saying these switches are only hot when the vehicle is on? What if you want your lights on while it's off? I know this would kill your battery over time, but you might need it for a short period - Just curious.

To the OP: If your passenger is that drunk, nothings stopping them from grabbing your steering wheel while you're driving or opening the door and jumping out. You likely have bigger concerns at that point.
 

ThunderSquatch

Base
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2021
Messages
140
Reaction score
347
Location
Chester County, Pennsylvania
Vehicle(s)
Bronco BaseSquatch, (ex: RAM 1500 5.7 HEMI 4x4)
Bronco
Base
Clubs
 
Wire the switches to a passenger ejector seat…. problem will solve itself.
 

Theherofails

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Thomas
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
5,233
Location
Phoenix
Vehicle(s)
2021 Audi Q7 Prestige, 2021 Bronco Badlands Sas
Bronco
Badlands
I know this is a bit off topic, but you're saying these switches are only hot when the vehicle is on? What if you want your lights on while it's off? I know this would kill your battery over time, but you might need it for a short period - Just curious.

To the OP: If your passenger is that drunk, nothings stopping them from grabbing your steering wheel while you're driving or opening the door and jumping out. You likely have bigger concerns at that point.
Then you tap the start button with your foot off the brake with the key in the Bronco, and you get accessory power.


There won't be an easy way to add a cut off to the aux switches without installing some type of complicated secondary switch capable of disconnecting 6 circuits, because each upfitter switch is individually ran to an exit point near the fuse box in under the hood.
 
Last edited:
OP
OP

Jhuff

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
J
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
288
Reaction score
418
Location
Michigan
Vehicle(s)
Toyota Tacoma and DR650
Bronco
Badlands
If your passenger is that drunk, nothings stopping them from grabbing your steering wheel while you're driving or opening the door and jumping out. You likely have bigger concerns at that point.
Haha! Well yes and no. The reason this scenario is in my head is because it happened a few months ago. I was giving a ride to an innebreated friend, and through no ill will, they hit every button on my dash looking for... Something... I'm guessing the radio

In my Tacoma, all they turned on were my flashers and AC; but, if they had access to HID or LED projectors with oncoming traffic.... Ouch. 😂

There won't be an easy way to add a cut off to the aux switches without installing some type of complicated secondary switch capable of disconnecting 6 circuits, because each upfitter switch is individually ran to an exit point near the fuse box in under the
Hmmm. I was hoping there would be a single power supply to the upfitter relay box, which could be cut off by an appropriate sized relay.

Still lots of thinking to do on the need and ability to do so.
 

Theherofails

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Thomas
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
5,233
Location
Phoenix
Vehicle(s)
2021 Audi Q7 Prestige, 2021 Bronco Badlands Sas
Bronco
Badlands
Haha! Well yes and no. The reason this scenario is in my head is because it happened a few months ago. I was giving a ride to an innebreated friend, and through no ill will, they hit every button on my dash looking for... Something... I'm guessing the radio

In my Tacoma, all they turned on were my flashers and AC; but, if they had access to HID or LED projectors with oncoming traffic.... Ouch. 😂



Hmmm. I was hoping there would be a single power supply to the upfitter relay box, that could be cut off with the appropriate sized relay.

Still lots of thinking to do on the need and ability to do so.
The amp ratings are different based on each aux switch run and each run is individually fused. Even worse, the part of the circuit you can gain access to is after the fusing happens (in the engine compartment), so you'll need to bust into a wiring harness somewhere to get access. Although, maybe it's better to do it after the fusing. Not sure on that one. Someone more experienced can clarify that part.

Maybe a little spray bottle would be easier. Any time a drunk passenger gets handsy with your upfitters, give em a little spritz like you would an unruly housecat.
 
OP
OP

Jhuff

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
J
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
288
Reaction score
418
Location
Michigan
Vehicle(s)
Toyota Tacoma and DR650
Bronco
Badlands
...you'll need to bust into a wiring harness somewhere to get access.
Ouch. Yeah there goes my idea of this being "simple". I had pictured something similar to my current Aux fuse block, with a main feed and bus that distributes the positive current.

Thanks!
 

Theherofails

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Thomas
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
5,233
Location
Phoenix
Vehicle(s)
2021 Audi Q7 Prestige, 2021 Bronco Badlands Sas
Bronco
Badlands
Ouch. Yeah there goes my idea of this being "simple". I had pictured something similar to my current Aux fuse block, with a main feed and bus that distributes the positive current.

Thanks!
1636135086065.png


i'm sure it's possible somehow. I haven't seen the cable run between the aux switches and the Power Distribution Box. I know it comes pre-wired even if you skip the upfitter switches. The easily accessible wire connections are after it exits the power distribution. You have essentially 6 wires popping out right by your firewall in the hood area that you then connect to B1, B2 or C to move power around the vehicle.

I tried getting into that aux switch area inside the Bronco for a dash cam install and I couldn't find a way to get it open without damaging the plastics. The rest of the vehicle is quite easy to take apart as needed though.
 

AKBronc49

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
First Name
Russ
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
868
Reaction score
2,530
Location
Anchorage, Alaska
Vehicle(s)
11 F150,02 Excursion,06 Chrysler 300C,21 Bronco
Bronco
Outer Banks
I know this is a bit off topic, but you're saying these switches are only hot when the vehicle is on? What if you want your lights on while it's off? I know this would kill your battery over time, but you might need it for a short period - Just curious.
Correct. Most every fleet manager I deal with wants every accessory ignition hot because the guys will forget the thing (lights, inverter..ect) ON and kill the batteries.

On Super Duty trucks and Ford Transits you can change 2 of those switches to battery hot if that's a requirement for the end user. I assume the Bronco will be like other Ford products. RAM trucks are just about the same.
 

jay-rod427

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Jerod
Joined
Feb 26, 2021
Messages
375
Reaction score
1,237
Location
KS
Vehicle(s)
Carbonized gray 2 dr BadLands Sans-Squatch ordered
Bronco
Badlands
Find new passengers!
 

Jofenech

Badlands
Member
First Name
Joe
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Messages
19
Reaction score
54
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep
Bronco
Badlands
I have them in my Transit, they are low mounted, my dog is constantly switching them on ,fortunately I’ve never had the need to hook them up in the transit.
 

tracythemighty

Base
Well-Known Member
First Name
Tracy
Joined
Jan 24, 2021
Messages
469
Reaction score
652
Location
U.S.
Vehicle(s)
Mini Cooper
Bronco
Base
Clubs
 
Clueless here.
Will you need to have a second battery for anything hooked up (like mini fridge, etc), or for anything hooked up to the aux switches (like lights, etc)?
If so, is there even room for a second battery? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 

Theherofails

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Thomas
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
5,233
Location
Phoenix
Vehicle(s)
2021 Audi Q7 Prestige, 2021 Bronco Badlands Sas
Bronco
Badlands
Clueless here.
Will you need to have a second battery for anything hooked up (like mini fridge, etc), or for anything hooked up to the aux switches (like lights, etc)?
If so, is there even room for a second battery? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
A second battery or a device to monitor battery draw and disconnect the circuit when the voltage hits your safe point. The battery included is pretty beefy though.

I'll be wiring in a LiLon power station that can accept solar to keep everything powered and topped off.
 
Advertisement

 
Advertisement
Top