First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
20 Shelby GT350, 22 Bronco BL, 29 Ford Roadster
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
I know there are many threads already about wind noise and water leaks with these MIC removable tops and using foam and weather seals to mask or improve the issues.

First lets talk about "road noise" and "wind noise", tow totally different things. These roofs are thin so they can be easily removed which we all like but with this comes road noise and is really not bad at all considering. Wind noise is caused by small gaps in weather seals, glass or misaligned panels. Sometimes gaps causing wind noise can also cause water leaks.

Ok so we are talking "wind noise". I was a auto technician for 29 years and have experience with figuring out these type of issues and after picking up my Bronco I was hoping for the best but as soon as I went over 45 mph I could hear "wind noise"... then hit the highway heading home and the wind noise was unacceptable for any vehicle never mind a 50K+ vehicle. My Bronco spend many days and multiple visits back to the dealer to solve the problem. They changed the front gasket about the windshield the roof panels rest on, they removable roof panel gaskets, did the windshield recall to reseal it and could not improve the "wind noise" even after speaking with Ford tech the dealer did not have anything else to try and suggested I contact Ford directly so I picked up the Bronco and figured I would take another look myself.

This is the first problem I found using a light from the side. The dealer changed these roof panel gaskets and the gap is better but still leaks.
Ford Bronco MIC Hardtop 2.0 Wind Noise - Leaks Locations Found IMG_7501 2.JPG

Ford Bronco MIC Hardtop 2.0 Wind Noise - Leaks Locations Found IMG_7502 2.JPG

Now is a series of pictures I took today and I found all of these leaks in less than 1/2 hour. I used a smoke machine, but if you do not have access to one I will explain how to find them without.