Stanley
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco OB , Bronco Sport OB,
Your Bronco Model
Outer Banks
Clubs

My Bronco will be in this week and I plan to take it out on a little adventure this coming weekend. I am new to off roading and am really wondering the point of air down of the tires?
Sponsored

tracythemighty

Base
First Name
Tracy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Bronco - Race Red Base w/Sas
Your Bronco Model
Base
Clubs

I know it is to get more surface contact, but I'd like to know when do you do it, and how to know if you need to do it or not. Does that make sense? 😁
Also, I'm guessing you have to have an air compressor on board before even considering it. 🤷‍♀️

Theherofails

Badlands
First Name
Thomas
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 e-tron Sportback, 2021 Bronco Badlands Sas
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
My Bronco will be in this week and I plan to take it out on a little adventure this coming weekend. I am new to off roading and am really wondering the point of air down of the tires?
Makes the ride far more comfortable off-road. Huge benefit. Night and day difference. This leads to less wear and tear on vehicle.

Increases traction by making the contact patch between tire and surface larger. You'll go further and in a safer manner with properly deflated tires. You'll rely on lockers less.

Most importantly - helps prevent tire punctures by allowing your tire to conform to sharp surfaces instead of staying rigid and puncturing. Think of stabbing a stick into a balloon. A firm balloon is going to pop while the soft balloon conforms to the shape of the stick.

It also helps you float on sand and snow instead of sinking in. Big debate on if you want to ride on the snow or cut through it but I'll leave that for others.

About 20 PSI will be a good default point unless you can't air back up without driving on pavement after. Then stick to 25PSI or so, as it will allow you to get to a gas station.