Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Bronco Badlands, 2000 Mercedes-Benz G500
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

I'm due for my first oil change and will probably use the extraction method, and then pull the drain plug to see if anything else comes out.

I have zero knowledge about the 2.7l in my Bronco (never been a Ford guy), but since I noticed the oil filter is topside, and since I've changed the oil in my 2000 Mercedes G500 via the vacuum/extraction method for over 15 years, I thought I'd throw the question out there...

Just curious if anyone else has used this method, and, more curiously, after watching several "FIRST BRONCO OIL CHANGE!" videos on the youtubez, no one seems to get anywhere near 7 quarts out, or can fit 7 quarts back in...

Curious to hear any thoughts...
Sponsored

da_jokker

Wildtrak
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler JKUR
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

I believe it has been said the dipstick doesn't have a clear opening into the pan. This is the reason why the 15+ minute wait to check the level after you refill the oil.

I mean I guess you could try it, but sounds like you're not going to be able to get the tube far enough down into the pan.

daddycreswell

Wildtrak
First Name
Josh
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 Raptor, 1973 Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

I'm due for my first oil change and will probably use the extraction method, and then pull the drain plug to see if anything else comes out.

I have zero knowledge about the 2.7l in my Bronco (never been a Ford guy), but since I noticed the oil filter is topside, and since I've changed the oil in my 2000 Mercedes G500 via the vacuum/extraction method for over 15 years, I thought I'd throw the question out there...

Just curious if anyone else has used this method, and, more curiously, after watching several "FIRST BRONCO OIL CHANGE!" videos on the youtubez, no one seems to get anywhere near 7 quarts out, or can fit 7 quarts back in...