Sponsored

On Demand vs Full Time Auto 4x4 - what difference ?

MacHudson

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2012 Edge
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
Noob here.

Can someone explain the difference between the part time and full time 4x4 systems?

I did not notice any price difference on the Black Diamond when I was messing with B&P.

Without lockers, on the part time I don’t understand how you get traction to the axle wheel that’s got grip if the other one is slipping.

With full time, is this just a stronger Subaru? Why not just make it full time and do away with the part time option?

Sorry, it’s just not making sense to me.
Sponsored

Dlerojo

Badlands
First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Outback
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Part time 4wd is the more traditional system and should only be used in icy/snowy or offroad conditions. Auto is higher end, usually a more expensive option, and more simulates AWD.

You are correct, without lockers power goes to the wheel with the least amount of traction. Example: Your left rear wheel has zero traction but your right rear does. The left rear will spin and your right will do nothing. A rear locker will force both wheels to spin regardless of traction

frinesi2

First Name
Eric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'92 Pajero 2.5TD, '99 Land Cruiser '15 Golf TDI
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
Clubs

In Jeeps, at least, Part-Time means you can use it PART OF THE TIME, because the center differential is locked, which means you need to be on a slippery surface or you could damage your driveline. All-Time means you can use it ALL OF THE TIME - i.e. all three differentials are unlocked so you can drive in 4WD on high-traction surfaces.

On-demand usually means AWD (all wheel drive) which means it's in two wheel drive until it detects slippage and engages the front axle (in the case of the Bronco's rear-wheel-drive biased system).