Question for anyone with Experience of Ford's SYNC (Radio Favorites)

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
512
Reaction score
551
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
Clubs
 
One of the features I absolutely love with my Mazda's Infortainment center is how it deals with "Favorites". It has a menu that has multiple tabs, one of which is for Radio Stations. No more of that FM1 FM2 FM3 junk... it allows me to add like 200 Stations (FM or AM, doesn't matter) and it is all in 1 list. It even goes as far as allows me to move those up and down, which I use to group my favorites by genre.

I tried to google this, but I didn't know what to call it in Ford Speak.. so I figured I'd ask. Anyone know how Ford Handles Radio Station Bookmarks?





Advertisement

 

Bronco Dealer

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
208
Reaction score
555
Location
U.S.
Vehicle(s)
Explorer ST, Escape SE, JK Sahara
One of the features I absolutely love with my Mazda's Infortainment center is how it deals with "Favorites". It has a menu that has multiple tabs, one of which is for Radio Stations. No more of that FM1 FM2 FM3 junk... it allows me to add like 200 Stations (FM or AM, doesn't matter) and it is all in 1 list. It even goes as far as allows me to move those up and down, which I use to group my favorites by genre.

I tried to google this, but I didn't know what to call it in Ford Speak.. so I figured I'd ask. Anyone know how Ford Handles Radio Station Bookmarks?
So on SYNC 4, and later versions of SYNC like the version in my Explorer ST have presets that jump across multiple media sources. It used to be that the presets were only available in the media source you were currently running. i.e. Sirius had it's own group, FM had its own group. Now it just shortcuts to the preset no matter what you're using.

I can take a pic on the way home if you like.
 
OP
da_jokker

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
512
Reaction score
551
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
Clubs
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
So on SYNC 4, and later versions of SYNC like the version in my Explorer ST have presets that jump across multiple media sources. It used to be that the presets were only available in the media source you were currently running. i.e. Sirius had it's own group, FM had its own group. Now it just shortcuts to the preset no matter what you're using.

I can take a pic on the way home if you like.
I'd appreciate that. With the mazda, on the "Radio" tab of the favorites I have all my stations (in my own order). So as a dial the center control (I'll miss that for sure), it scrolls up and down my list and makes it really easy to go from 1 station, all the way down to the last station.
 

maus92

Outer Banks
New Member
First Name
Charley
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Annapolis, Maryland
Vehicle(s)
F-150
LOL, I hope Sync 4 is better than Sync 3. Ford Infotaiment systems are notoriously buggy, and operationally laggy and slow. Sync 2 was even worse than 3 - they never came close to "fixing" that version. I don't understand why they cannot engineer a reliable and responsive system.
 
OP
da_jokker

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
512
Reaction score
551
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
Clubs
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
Here's a picture of my Mazda's favorites.
20200719_114952.jpg
 

KosmicKid

First Edition
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
106
Reaction score
217
Location
Colorado
Vehicle(s)
2018 Raptor 2018 Lincoln MKZ 2010 Jaguar XKR
Vehicle Showcase
3
That is the one thing that bugs me on my Sync 3 is the presets.
I'm usually on SiriusXM which 3 banks of 6 presets for 18 total.
I can > or< on on the steering wheel controls for each preset bank but if I want to change bank I have to use the touchscreen (unless I missed something somewhere in the manual...)
 
OP
da_jokker

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
512
Reaction score
551
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
Clubs
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #7
That is the one thing that bugs me on my Sync 3 is the presets.
I'm usually on SiriusXM which 3 banks of 6 presets for 18 total.
I can > or< on on the steering wheel controls for each preset bank but if I want to change bank I have to use the touchscreen (unless I missed something somewhere in the manual...)
That is exactly what i do NOT want... never thought anything about having to switch between "Bands" until I got my Mazda and thought ... duh... why didn't someone think of this before.

Being that these Infotainment systems are basically computers, there is no reason to need 3 banks.

So I guess the question is if Sync 4 does this. (Not worried about Sirius because I never use it) so as long as the normal Stations don't do this. Of course, it is not a deal breaker for me... it is just going to suck to have such a nice new (and expensive) car that is a step backward in tech from my current car.
 

siddious33

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
145
Reaction score
302
Location
Charlotte, NC
Vehicle(s)
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee; 2016 Dodge Challenger Hellcat
This is
LOL, I hope Sync 4 is better than Sync 3. Ford Infotaiment systems are notoriously buggy, and operationally laggy and slow. Sync 2 was even worse than 3 - they never came close to "fixing" that version. I don't understand why they cannot engineer a reliable and responsive system.
This is one of my biggest worries about the Bronco to be honest. I have a Dodge Challenger Hellcat I'm selling to get the Bronco and the Uconnect systems in FCA cars is top notch. No joke. It's REALLY good and easy to use. I could go get a new Jeep Rubicon right now and there's no transition and everything works.

On the other hand, my wife had a 2014 Ford Fusion for a work car and the electronics in that thing were horrifically bad. The entire center stack just stopped working one day. No radio. No HVAC, nothing. Ford replaced the guts of the whole thing and it "worked" after that, but would randomly stop running the AC and the thermometer would say things like it was -42 degrees in the middle of July.

Her next fleet car was a 2016 Edge and it was definitely better, but still super flaky. It had wired Apple Carplay but you might have to unplug and plug in your phone 1 to 7 times in order for it to work. It did the same thing with the thermometer and occasionally the whole HVAC systems just would not work until you turned the car off, opened a door to shut everything down, waited about 30 seconds and then turned it back on.

I am REALLY hoping for some incredible improvement with this new system, but the fact that it's in a model year one truck has me more than a little hesitant.
 
OP
da_jokker

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
512
Reaction score
551
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
Clubs
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #9
This is


This is one of my biggest worries about the Bronco to be honest. I have a Dodge Challenger Hellcat I'm selling to get the Bronco and the Uconnect systems in FCA cars is top notch. No joke. It's REALLY good and easy to use. I could go get a new Jeep Rubicon right now and there's no transition and everything works.

On the other hand, my wife had a 2014 Ford Fusion for a work car and the electronics in that thing were horrifically bad. The entire center stack just stopped working one day. No radio. No HVAC, nothing. Ford replaced the guts of the whole thing and it "worked" after that, but would randomly stop running the AC and the thermometer would say things like it was -42 degrees in the middle of July.

Her next fleet car was a 2016 Edge and it was definitely better, but still super flaky. It had wired Apple Carplay but you might have to unplug and plug in your phone 1 to 7 times in order for it to work. It did the same thing with the thermometer and occasionally the whole HVAC systems just would not work until you turned the car off, opened a door to shut everything down, waited about 30 seconds and then turned it back on.

I am REALLY hoping for some incredible improvement with this new system, but the fact that it's in a model year one truck has me more than a little hesitant.
I'm with ya on this. That is the one thing about the SPORT is it comes with Sync 3 (wtf) while BRONCO has Sync 4.

I used to upgrade my stereos back in the day when a stereo was just a stereo... but now, they are damn near the entire brains of the car. Can they even be replaced with aftermarket?

The electronics in cars is the one reason I would even think about a possible extended warranty
 
OP
da_jokker

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
512
Reaction score
551
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
Clubs
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #11
Seems like there is quite a few of us Mazda drivers jumping into Broncos
I would love to keep my Mazda. I've done alot of work to it including an OVT tune. It is only a couple years old with 40k miles on it... but I can't keep it if I want a Bronco so bye Mazda 😩
 

Norm A.

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Norman
Joined
Aug 25, 2020
Messages
62
Reaction score
77
Location
91910
Vehicle(s)
F150
I hope the screens are better, I have a permanent fingerprint on the screen in my 2011 F-150, upper right-hand corner LOL
 

tyrobronco

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2020
Messages
236
Reaction score
516
Location
Central Florida
Vehicle(s)
2011 F-150, 2018 Ford Fusion Energi, 2005 Ford 500
I hope the screens are better, I have a permanent fingerprint on the screen in my 2011 F-150, upper right-hand corner LOL
My 2011 F150 doesn't have a screen. Just good ol' original Synch. 3 bands of ads for Sirius Radio, an AM, 2 FMs, and a Line-In. I made both my FMs have the same stations so whichever one I get to will generally work.

The Synch was nifty when I bought the truck - as it was "synched" to the phone I had then - so I could make touchless phone calls. But I went from Apple to Android and I couldn't easily get it switched - kinda like day-lights saving and changing the clock on the radio.

I need to get a new phone but I'm going to wait until I am closer to getting the Bronco so I can hopefully get it "synched" to the truck - so I can get a good 3-4 years out of the technology.
 

Advertisement




 



Advertisement
Top