Advertisement

Question for anyone with Experience of Ford's SYNC (Radio Favorites)

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
265
Reaction score
211
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
One of the features I absolutely love with my Mazda's Infortainment center is how it deals with "Favorites". It has a menu that has multiple tabs, one of which is for Radio Stations. No more of that FM1 FM2 FM3 junk... it allows me to add like 200 Stations (FM or AM, doesn't matter) and it is all in 1 list. It even goes as far as allows me to move those up and down, which I use to group my favorites by genre.

I tried to google this, but I didn't know what to call it in Ford Speak.. so I figured I'd ask. Anyone know how Ford Handles Radio Station Bookmarks?



Advertisement


 

Bronco Dealer

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
208
Reaction score
549
Location
U.S.
Vehicle(s)
Explorer ST, Escape SE, JK Sahara
One of the features I absolutely love with my Mazda's Infortainment center is how it deals with "Favorites". It has a menu that has multiple tabs, one of which is for Radio Stations. No more of that FM1 FM2 FM3 junk... it allows me to add like 200 Stations (FM or AM, doesn't matter) and it is all in 1 list. It even goes as far as allows me to move those up and down, which I use to group my favorites by genre.

I tried to google this, but I didn't know what to call it in Ford Speak.. so I figured I'd ask. Anyone know how Ford Handles Radio Station Bookmarks?
So on SYNC 4, and later versions of SYNC like the version in my Explorer ST have presets that jump across multiple media sources. It used to be that the presets were only available in the media source you were currently running. i.e. Sirius had it's own group, FM had its own group. Now it just shortcuts to the preset no matter what you're using.

I can take a pic on the way home if you like.
 
OP
da_jokker

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
265
Reaction score
211
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
So on SYNC 4, and later versions of SYNC like the version in my Explorer ST have presets that jump across multiple media sources. It used to be that the presets were only available in the media source you were currently running. i.e. Sirius had it's own group, FM had its own group. Now it just shortcuts to the preset no matter what you're using.

I can take a pic on the way home if you like.
I'd appreciate that. With the mazda, on the "Radio" tab of the favorites I have all my stations (in my own order). So as a dial the center control (I'll miss that for sure), it scrolls up and down my list and makes it really easy to go from 1 station, all the way down to the last station.
 

maus92

Outer Banks
New Member
First Name
Charley
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Annapolis, Maryland
Vehicle(s)
F-150
LOL, I hope Sync 4 is better than Sync 3. Ford Infotaiment systems are notoriously buggy, and operationally laggy and slow. Sync 2 was even worse than 3 - they never came close to "fixing" that version. I don't understand why they cannot engineer a reliable and responsive system.
 
OP
da_jokker

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
265
Reaction score
211
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
Here's a picture of my Mazda's favorites.
20200719_114952.jpg
 

KosmicKid

First Edition
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
54
Reaction score
86
Location
Colorado
Vehicle(s)
2018 Raptor 2018 Lincoln MKZ 2010 Jaguar XKR
Vehicle Showcase
3
That is the one thing that bugs me on my Sync 3 is the presets.
I'm usually on SiriusXM which 3 banks of 6 presets for 18 total.
I can > or< on on the steering wheel controls for each preset bank but if I want to change bank I have to use the touchscreen (unless I missed something somewhere in the manual...)
 
OP
da_jokker

da_jokker

Outer Banks
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
265
Reaction score
211
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Cherokee XJ
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #7
That is the one thing that bugs me on my Sync 3 is the presets.
I'm usually on SiriusXM which 3 banks of 6 presets for 18 total.
I can > or< on on the steering wheel controls for each preset bank but if I want to change bank I have to use the touchscreen (unless I missed something somewhere in the manual...)
That is exactly what i do NOT want... never thought anything about having to switch between "Bands" until I got my Mazda and thought ... duh... why didn't someone think of this before.

Being that these Infotainment systems are basically computers, there is no reason to need 3 banks.

So I guess the question is if Sync 4 does this. (Not worried about Sirius because I never use it) so as long as the normal Stations don't do this. Of course, it is not a deal breaker for me... it is just going to suck to have such a nice new (and expensive) car that is a step backward in tech from my current car.
 

Advertisement


 




Advertisement




Top