Tire pressure gauge issue - spare swap reading flat tire pressure

luptanpitman

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
230
Reaction score
505
Location
Los Angeles
Vehicle(s)
'21 Bronco, ‘21 Polestar
Bronco
Badlands
Clubs
 
I got a nail in sas front driver tire. Swapped the full size spare but the computer pressure sensor still reading the spare which is mounted on rear gate now.

Anyone know what I did wrong or skipped? Looked around and couldn’t find anything. Do I need to reset somehow or swap something in original
tire to the spare which I’m now using?

thanks!
Advertisement

 

jzweedyk

Member
First Name
Jim
Joined
Oct 12, 2021
Messages
19
Reaction score
59
Location
Moab, UT
Vehicle(s)
19 Raptor, 09 6.1 Hemi Jeep
Bronco
Undecided
Does the spare have a TPMS? My F150 Raptor doesn't. Also, I don't think you have to trail the TPMS, the vehicle should figure it out in a few miles on it's own. I don't have my Bronco yet, but the Raptor does that.
 

BrentC

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Brent
Joined
Oct 3, 2020
Messages
997
Reaction score
2,169
Location
Calgary, AB
Vehicle(s)
2019 F150 Sport, 2021 Bronco Badlands
Bronco
Badlands

Also, I don't think you have to trail the TPMS, the vehicle should figure it out in a few miles on it's own. I don't have my Bronco yet, but the Raptor does that.
Can confirm.

The F150 does this as well, as did my 2013 Focus ST. On both of these I swap the wheels/tires twice a year between the winter set and the summer set. No issues.

388C9F94-406A-4AE1-A273-3BBAFA48A4CA.jpeg
 
OP
OP
luptanpitman

luptanpitman

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
230
Reaction score
505
Location
Los Angeles
Vehicle(s)
'21 Bronco, ‘21 Polestar
Bronco
Badlands
Clubs
 
What is strange regardless of training or not - the tire pressure gauge on the dash is showing the pressure in the flat tire which is now mounted on rear gate. So is there some sort of swap that needs to happen to let the car know not to read the bad tire?
 

_finack

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
323
Reaction score
583
Location
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Vehicle(s)
2015 Lincoln MKZ
Bronco
Badlands
What is strange regardless of training or not - the tire pressure gauge on the dash is showing the pressure in the flat tire which is now mounted on rear gate. So is there some sort of swap that needs to happen to let the car know not to read the bad tire?
The training is the thing "that needs to happen to let the car know not to read the bad tire". That's what people are saying here.
 
OP
OP
luptanpitman

luptanpitman

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
230
Reaction score
505
Location
Los Angeles
Vehicle(s)
'21 Bronco, ‘21 Polestar
Bronco
Badlands
Clubs
 
What is strange regardless of training or not - the tire pressure gauge on the dash is showing the pressure in the flat tire which is now mounted on rear gate. So is there some sort of swap that needs to happen to let the car know not to read the bad tire?
IGNORE THE ABOVE - Great news after the 5th or 6th mile it automatically switched to read the spare in place of the Busted tire. So training does seem to happpen but it happens autonomously!
 

webspoke

Badlands
Well-Known Member
First Name
Stan
Joined
Mar 22, 2021
Messages
254
Reaction score
470
Location
Pilot Point, TX
Vehicle(s)
F450, GT350
Bronco
Badlands
Clubs
 
you have to train the sensors for position, dealer or tire shop can do.
Yes, there is also a cheaper $20-40 training tool that may be able to work - used on lots of other fords.
FB4860?wid=810&hei=608&op_usm=0.jpg

I use on on my gt350 when swapping between race wheels. You do a 'pedal dance' with the brake and ignition to set the BCM into tire pressure sensor training mode. Then go around to each wheel when prompted and push the button until it the horn honks.
 
OP
OP
luptanpitman

luptanpitman

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
230
Reaction score
505
Location
Los Angeles
Vehicle(s)
'21 Bronco, ‘21 Polestar
Bronco
Badlands
Clubs
 
Very cool thanks!
 

Techun

Black Diamond
Well-Known Member
First Name
Brian
Joined
Jul 28, 2020
Messages
523
Reaction score
1,381
Location
Pa
Vehicle(s)
Fiesta st
Bronco
Black Diamond
How does the truck know which sensor is in which corner?
 

Firefight911

Wildtrak
Well-Known Member
First Name
Phil
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
599
Reaction score
1,942
Location
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Bronco base 4-door (hers)
Bronco
Wildtrak
Does the spare have a TPMS? My F150 Raptor doesn't. Also, I don't think you have to trail the TPMS, the vehicle should figure it out in a few miles on it's own. I don't have my Bronco yet, but the Raptor does that.
Yes, all Broncos come with five TPMS equipped wheels.
 
OP
OP
luptanpitman

luptanpitman

Badlands
Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
230
Reaction score
505
Location
Los Angeles
Vehicle(s)
'21 Bronco, ‘21 Polestar
Bronco
Badlands
Clubs
 
How does the truck know which sensor is in which corner?
No idea but it’s sent via some wireless signal because the flat was losing air as it was mounted on rear gate and was showing as if it was still on driver side front. Then suddenly switched after several miles on freeway today. Yesterday drove about 6 miles and it wasn’t enough to “train” it.
 
Advertisement

 
Advertisement
Top