Sponsored

Michigan Bronco Club

Members from the Mitten and the U.P.
broncoGIRL21
Anyone have to fix their windshield yet? Mine just cracked today. For literally no reason. :mad:
Show full message
AllthePonies
AllthePonies
If the windshield is cracked on the inside then Ford should cover the replacement. This happened on my expedition, and Ford replaced it under warranty. As long as there is no external crack (i.e. you can’t detect a crack on the outside with your fingernail) then you should be in good shape.
Mariposap75
Mariposap75
@AllthePonies ugh! I noticed one this morning when I got into my vehicle and it was not there before. It looks like it’s inside. Guess it’s time to call the dealer.😩😩 I’m getting some sort of windshield protection after this. 😂😂
Mariposap75
Mariposap75
Also, what would cause it to crack in the inside?!
AllthePonies
AllthePonies
@Mariposap75 Keeping in mind that I’m not a materials engineer, there is likely either a defect in the glass or a mistake was made when installing the windshield at the factory. The “glass” itself includes layers of different materials, which can either have adhesion issues to each other or expand and contract at different rates with temperature changes. The glass is “glued” to the frame with an adhesive that puts the glass under tension. If there is too much tension because the glass was installed with too much force or the adhesive itself is defective, or if there is an issue with the layers in the glass, or if there is an extreme temperature change, or some combination of all of these then the glass can crack internally.
broncoGIRL21
broncoGIRL21
Good to know. I just tried, I cannot feel the crack on the outside. Thank you!
bkfit
bkfit
Chinese made windshield if that matters 🤷🏻‍♂️. My driver side mirror did the same as your windshield self cracking.
yeet
yeet
Mine chipped last week and I've seeing more and more stories of that happening. Seems common on Jeeps and other cars with vertical windshields