Sponsored

HABO - Houston Area Bronco Owners

Group for the Houston area members!
Does anyone have any suggestions on property around Houston area to drive off-road without going to Austin or Huntsville etc.? What's the rule on non-posted public lands? There are a lot of unimproved roads and lots abutting bayous and what-not (some are posted) -- unposted rights of way and so forth... I just want to try out some of the features/modes of my new Bronco
Show full message
grayshadow
grayshadow
In the Houston area and most of Texas it would be advisable to stay on roadway. A lot of private land in Texas and it’s not their responsibility to post, it’s your responsibility to know where you are allowed to go.
SubmarineNuke
SubmarineNuke
While I’m no expert, the only thing I’ve seen is a couple of parks over towards Crosby. But if you check their website, Instagram etc they’re really just places to get muddy. If mud is your thing, then check em out. If you want rocks you’re gonna have to look at hidden falls, katemcy, head up to DFW and visit Bridgeport etc
4avor8ntfair
4avor8ntfair
Is there somewhere in Huntsville?
mpmcgaughey
mpmcgaughey
There’s a loop around Conroe!
SubmarineNuke
SubmarineNuke
@mpmcgaughey that just seemed like a dirt road…and is it even still open? More searching YouTube etc and nothing newer than like 4 years ago. But a dirt road isn’t really off-roading, nice Sunday drive when the weather is nice, but not off-roading. Looked like you could do that whole run in a riced out civic 🤷🏼‍♂️
darinhouston
I don’t need rocks. But I would like some hills and ruts and berms and general terrain to practice things.
SpringTXOR
SpringTXOR
Lost Hwy 87, I've been meaning to go check it out.
darinhouston
Looks like it’s closed
Texasliam