Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Shelby GT500
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Hey all,

New to GMRS and looking to get a unit for my bronco. Wondering if people could share their opinion on the Rugged Radio GMR45 vs the Midland MXT575. For both I’ll be using the associated Stealth antenna. The Midland is about $150 more with accessories, however, the stealth antenna appears to be more powerful and the handheld mic has all the radio controls allowing me to mount the head unit in a hidden location. Of course the Midland is also more powerful. I have no experience with GMRS radios, in your experience is the extra cost worth it? I’ll be using it to talk car-car on overlanding trips and in case of emergency, however,
I’ll also have a Garmin InReach if needed.

Thank you!
Sponsored

BroncoTrail

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Badlands Sasquatch Lux
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

I am no radio expert but I went with Midland. Got three radios for $99.99 and they worked perfectly during Bronco Safari.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTBHCWS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The Midland is about $150 more with accessories, however, the stealth antenna appears to be more powerful and the handheld mic has all the radio controls allowing me to mount the head unit in a hidden location. Of course the Midland is also more powerful. I have no experience with GMRS radios, in your experience is the extra cost worth it?
I'd say yes.

Bmadda

Badlands
First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1990 Bronco eddie bauer
Your Bronco Model
Badlands