First Name
G.L.
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Dualing Broncos
Your Bronco Model
Outer Banks
Wanted to share what I found with the factory B&O sound system before tearing it out. I'm not a professional just enjoy playing in the garage with toys and with my son on our vehicles. There have been many posts about the audio system in our Bronco's from speaker swaps to full systems but nothing about the audio signal from the B&O dsp feeding the speakers.

I set up my laptop, DM-RTA along with my SMD DD1+ to see what I could measure from the audio signal. For those not familiar with these items, the Audiocontrol DM-RTA a great tool for tuning, measuring and troubleshooting while the SMD DD1+ by D'Amore is a clipping indicator. While the DM-RTA has an oscilloscope for measuring maximum volume or system clipping I found it easier and quicker in this setup to use the DD1+. Keep in mind I measured the electrical signal feeding the speaker, I did not mic and measure the output of the speaker. For each speaker location I played 'pink noise' and measured the signal with wire probes to the speaker wires.

Subwoofer signal
Ford Bronco Factory B&O Audio Signal and Max Volume B&O Sub

Rear pod speakers
Ford Bronco Factory B&O Audio Signal and Max Volume B&O Rear Pods

Dash Speakers
Ford Bronco Factory B&O Audio Signal and Max Volume B&O Dash

Kick Panel
Ford Bronco Factory B&O Audio Signal and Max Volume B&O Kicks

Here are all the signals averaged
Ford Bronco Factory B&O Audio Signal and Max Volume B&O Audiocontrol Average