Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'21 Bronco Badlands, 2019 BMW X3
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Hey all,

I wanted to share my recent adventure. I’m new to off roading but eager to start the hobby. I’ve done a few forest roads on my own but knew I needed to learn more about how to off road the right way. Unfortunately, there isn’t nearly as many trails that exist out west to learn on and the idea of joining a club is a little overwhelming for me.

Enter Iron Range Offroad. A company that holds training courses in Minnesota’s best offroad park run by the state. The course consists of two days of offroad instruction and they teach skills and then build off them throughout the course.

The day started out in the parking lot being taught the importance of tire pressure and the entire group got to work airing down our tires.
Ford Bronco Iron Range MN - Learning to wheel Unknown

After that our team of instructors spent a good 75 minutes talking safety and trail etiquette and responsibility. While this section got a little long it was essential and something we referenced back on throughout the class.

Then we hit some light trails to get everyone comfortable. Our instructor was giving detailed advice and when we were going to encounter a new obstacle or challenge he would stop the group and explain, teach and ultimately demonstrate. A few of the highlights were driving extremely steep grades, how to safely back down a grade after not making it up a hill, water fording, some light mud, learning to drive over the rocks instead of avoiding them, navigating tight trails, vehicle recovery, and even rock crawling! I did opt out of one obstacle because I don’t have skid plates on my Big Bend. There were two other Cyber Orange Broncos in the group and I included a picture of @armand0609 sweet ride on the rock crawl I opted out of (He had the best rig in the class IMO).
Ford Bronco Iron Range MN - Learning to wheel JWG_0822_Original