Sponsored

Is getting this Bronco a smart decision?

eengineer

Black Diamond
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
None!
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

Hi all,

I'm beyond excited to receive my bronco. I've just been contemplating whether it's a financially smart move.

About me: I'm a recent college grad taking home around $4k post-tax, rent, and insurance monthly. I have a variety of savings and investment accounts totalling around 90k. I have no debt and my previous car was a $3k rusty beater that I sold after the repairs started costing too much. I'm also in the very fortunate position that my parents do not need my help for anything. However, I do eat out a lot - all meals on weekends and usually also once a week.

Dilemma: I'm struggling to find the balance between spending $$ to live my life vs. saving money to be responsible. None of my friends my age are into cars and so most don't own one or have an econobox like a prius or civic. I've seen tons of financial videos that say to stick to the cheapest car possible and buy outright. If financing, they say to follow the 40/20/10 rule and never lease. However, I was planning on leasing my Bronco (Black Diamond base) and put just enough down to get it to under $400 a month for 3 years (I plan on changing cars often). I live in the city so I've been using public transit within the city and renting cars outside. IIn fact, I could also save around $300 a month by letting go of my apartment's parking spot (yeah, $$, tell me about it lol).

What are your thoughts? I'm content with my life as of now and feel guilty for getting this car. In a weird way, I feel like I don't deserve to have as nice of a car as this. It would also be my most expensive purchase by far. I don't mean to show off with this post but it seems like most people here have spun around the sun a bit more than me so I wanted to get your advice. My parents have always spent a lot of $$ on cars so they keep convincing me that I should get it lol.