Sponsored

Tire size and Gearing… questions and thoughts in theory.

Texasgrillchef

Badlands
First Name
Gary
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco Badlands, Harley Trike, Mustang
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
These are thoughts and idea on theory as well as questions…

if I say something incorrectly or I am off base. PLEASE feel free to correct me but do so in a respectful manner please. I am still learning, even though I have been wheeling for years.

Tires… The larger the tires the higher the top speed. However due to the physics of increased weight as well as the laws of leverage and rotational power. The larger the tire circumference the more power needed to rotate that tire. The increased power/torque needed also lowers gas mileage even though each tire rotation will take you further distance per turn. Larger tires also allow for a smoother ride over rougher road surfaces, and allow one to cross bigger holes and climb bigger steps and rocks With less torque power and effort needed. what I am unsure of is on level grounds larger tires provide more torque or less torque to the road surface then smaller tires. When all other things are equal (engine, gearing, rpm, etc..)

Gears… level , vs, level 4, vs level 5. The higher the gear ratio. The more torque, & power to your tires and to the ground. Yet this comes at a cost of lower fuel economy, and lower top speed of vehicle.

when we increase tire size, we usually need to increase gear ratios to maintain and Keep top speed of vehicle equal. Vice versa to that lower gear ratios if we want to maintain and keep equal fuel economy. Yet for off roading, we usually go with increasing our gear ratios to reduce the stress on our gears, and drive train. because we are more likely to strip our level 3 gears with 37’s then we are to strip level 5 gears with 37’s.

Heres what I am getting at…