Sponsored

Can I just tap into the console USB for power?

FstFrd00

Black Diamond
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.gunsmithingtx.com
Vehicle(s)
2021 BD Sasquatch
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

I searched and didn't find anything that could help, but maybe I am entering the wrong search criteria... anyway.
I am fairly new to wiring; I've done plenty of "hold my beer" wiring. Want to do it right on the Bronco.

I have a flush mount USB, from another project, that I want to install on my dash but am unclear the best way to power it.
Ford Bronco Can I just tap into the console USB for power? 1671041332978

Can I just tap into the USB on the console?

Do I need an add-a-circuit? What fuse should I piggy-back off of or can I use a location thats not used (i.e. #35)? Then it would remain on at all times?

Ive heard also about using the aux switch by the glove box. Not to keen on the idea of wasting an aux switch to power a USB.

Any tips guys? Again I am fairly a noob, so please be gentle :)
Sponsored

Theherofails

Badlands
First Name
Thomas
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 e-tron Sportback, 2021 Bronco Badlands Sas
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Is this just for power or are you going for data as well?

If you're just doing power, you need something to drop down the 12v to a USB correct 5v or else you'll risk frying any electronic device you plug into it. USB-C is a much more flexible standard and can handle more voltage, but once again - device specific.

In short, adding a DC to DC converter in line that drops 12v down to 5v will allow you to power from any existing 12v source inside the vehicle. You could easily snake a wire down to the glove box area where there is an existing wire that pops out in the engine bay near the rest of the upfitter wiring.