Allen
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2010 F-150
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

So I have a Badlands on reserve. With that being said I'm constantly going back and forth between swapping to a BD.
For the time being it will be my wife's daily driver and baby hauler as we're expecting our first. However I would love to get into overlanding in the not so distant future and am curious if the BD would be as capable without the front lockers and SBdisco?
Sponsored

Last edited:

Mopar2Bronco2021

Base
First Name
Scott
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Dodge Charger RT 5.7L
Your Bronco Model
Base
I’m no overlanding expert by any means but there’s some articles and YouTube videos out there that discuss this. Most of them summarize that you do not need any lockers. What you DO NEED is recovery gear. That being said, I’ve never heard any overlanding expert say that they needed a front locker.

Hell look at 4Runners. A very popular overland vehicle and doesn’t have front lockers. You’ll be plenty fine with a BD as long as you’re not tackling crazy obstacles. Most obstacles don’t require a front locker. As for the sway bar disconnect, someone else on the forum will have to advise you there.

RG7

Black Diamond
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
B8 A4, 2018 Triumph Street Triple R
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

If you need to DC your sway bar, you still can. Should take 10 minutes with a ratchet and wrench. (Keep in mind this is in theory, don’t think any of us have actually seen where the end links attach and how easy they’ll be to access with the body on). Aftermarket will come out with quick disconnects most likely. The badlands SBD is just a convenience feature.

As far as lockers go, they are serious pieces of equipment for rough terrain. Depending on what your trails look like I’d venture to say that when you’re first starting out you probably won’t need a front locker as well as a rear if you’re taking more moderate trails.