First Name
Pancho
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang
Your Bronco Model
Base
In this COVID world, where I have been working remotely without plane travel for 6 months+, I am dreaming of Overlanding. My definition of this is road tripping cross country and taking dirt roads to semi-remote places (nothing too serious), and camping overnight. Occasionally, I would check into a hotel and stay in civilizaton as well.

Not sure if it is just a pipe dream because of the situation I am in or if this might actually happen.

Originally I thought I was locked into the concept of just getting the base 2-door Manual Bronco (which would always come back to home or a hotel) and then doing minor aftermarket upgrades over time. Then this board has influenced me to consider getting the Sasquatch package.

But now, instead, I am thinking of getting that trailer hitch, a very small sleeper camper to tow and just getting out there. Total Budget (including the Bronco) in the low 40s, which would mean I would have to get a trailer for under $10K and no Sasquatch.

My Questions (hoping that you can answer at least some of them...):
  1. How many of you have done true cross country overlanding? Can you describe what you did?
  2. What are the mental/financial/physical hurdles do you think that I need to get over to be a overlander?
  3. How did you get started? What would you recommend for me?
  4. I don't want a tent, I want an enclosed camper. Do you have any specific recommendations that would work with Broncos towing capacity?
  5. Do I need a bathroom in this camper? Is it more convenient to have one and maintain it or not have one at all? What about the kitchen situation?
  6. Is a Base 2-Door Bronco without the Sasquatch package the right vehicle? Should at least upgrade the wheels? What else?
  7. Are there hidden costs that am missing?
  8. What question should I have asked?
Sponsored

LSU Jonno

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Bronco
Your Bronco Model