Sponsored

Does it make sense to remove bash plates?

BigMex

Badlands
First Name
Ezra
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 White Ford Bronco (moar door, 7spd, lux)
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

I’m considering whether or not it makes sense to remove the factory bash plates for everyday-type driving, as a weight and fuel cost saving feature and minimize exposure to road salt this winter… and I’m not afraid to admit I’m a noob (never had bashplates on my 4Runner or FJ).

I figure I can put them back on when I hit the trails in the summer, right? Is this smart, stupid, crazy, dangerous? Help.
Sponsored

710-oil-614

Big Bend
First Name
Cal
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Maverick Tremor, 2010 Toyota Tacoma
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
i would think the bash plates might slightly (albeit slightly) protect the rest of your undercarriage from the salt exposure.

Fluid Film the whole underbody (bash plates removed) just to be sure.

I'm so worried mine is getting delivered to Ohio in February and I'm going to be laying in snow with my pressure washer cleaning the underbody off after driving 2.6 miles from the dealer to get the salt off so I can get it in the garage, dried off, and Fluid Filmed.

KANE COUNTY ILLINOIS

Big Bend
First Name
SAL
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GMC YUKON
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
I’m considering whether or not it makes sense to remove the factory bash plates for everyday-type driving, as a weight and fuel cost saving feature and minimize exposure to road salt this winter… and I’m not afraid to admit I’m a noob (never had bashplates on my 4Runner or FJ).

I figure I can put them back on when I hit the trails in the summer, right? Is this smart, stupid, crazy, dangerous? Help.
I have a Big Bend and I just realized that the bash-plate just under the front bumper is plastic, so no big weight-savings for me! I will never hit the trails, so it's not too much of a disappointment!

Nolabel

Wildtrak
First Name
Van
Threads
Reaction score