Reaction score
Website
azbluey.com
Vehicle(s)
2.7L Badlands NS 4dr
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Setup. I left my lights on the non-auto mode; didn't want to blind my neighbors as I was getting groceries out of the truck; forgot and didn't drive for a day and my battery died. My fault; i get it.

Upon setting up my small 2A NOCO trickle charger (I have since bought the 10A one; I had the small one for my motorcycle already) I didn't see any change on the charger and the truck wasn't able to start. Did some research... learned there's a BMS (battery management system; makes sense, i'm just new to computerized vehicles) so I then reattached up the gator clip on the top side of the BMS like the video showed and let it go for another hour. Still didn't see any light change on my charger (the lowest/bottom one just blinking). SO... I let it charge over night; a good 12-14 hours. I came out in the morning and the charger was STILL only showing the 1 out of 4 lights lit and blinking. I got worried. BUT... the truck was able to start no problem so it must have been charging.

SO my questions are:
  1. Did I set up the charger properly?
    1. POS clamp was on the red terminal itself.
    2. NEG clamp was on the upper bracket coming off the BMS module similar to how that video showed.
    3. Charger set to "AGM" mode. (yes it was plugged in)
  2. How to jump the AGM battery w/ BMS on it?
    I tried using my old Weego jump pack on both terminals (again before I knew about the BMS) and it didn't work... and it made my old pack swell (throwing it away now, buying a new NoCo GBX45). SO... I'm assuming since the power was on the terminal and not after the BMS it wouldn't take the boost? If I hooked it up after the BMS would that have worked? Or it wasn't charged enough and the draw was too much?
Thanks guys... felling dumb I botched this so badly but... moving on.

EDIT: Video in third comment on this page
Sponsored

Last edited:

cbrenthus

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score