First Name
Christopher
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
16 Harley Davidson FLSS, 17 Ford Expedition EL,
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
Newbie here although I'm 52 and a car & motorcycle enthusiast.

I have a reservation and have been stalking the site for awhile. I am the current owner of a 2017 Ford Expedition XLT EL that is basic. No lane changing warnings, start/stopping the motor while at lights, etc although it does have a more complicated twin turbo setup v-6 motor setup. It has proven reliable at my 70,000 miles of ownership.

I see that many cars that have quite a bit of new tech tend to lose value after 100,000 miles due to very expensive repairs that can be traced back to the new tech failing. Cars like Mercedes, BMW & Land Rover can be had for a huge discount once they get up there in age. Every time you research one you will find these issues.
I am of 2 minds on this order.

1) Go basic with the Gizmos and keep it for a very long time. If they would allow I'd get the V-6TT with a manual with hand roll down windows.

2) Load it up as Ford's packages are not that expensive to add on. Honestly I would enjoy them but they seem to cause expensive issues as the vehicle ages.
This would also allow me to sell it easier down the road. I suspect many younger drivers will demand these aids in driving and not look at a vehicle without lane departure, blind spot warnings and sudden stop emergency overrides.

Thoughts?
Sponsored

bbqbronco

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
EG Badlands
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Newbie here although I'm 52 and a car & motorcycle enthusiast.

I have a reservation and have been stalking the site for awhile. I am the current owner of a 2017 Ford Expedition XLT EL that is basic. No lane changing warnings, start/stopping the motor while at lights, etc although it does have a more complicated twin turbo setup v-6 motor setup. It has proven reliable at my 70,000 miles of ownership.