Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

I am planning a road trip from NJ to Nashville and then to Austin to see Kill Tony at the Comedy Mothership in October. That's a pretty straightforward drive.

From Austin, I am planning to head out west to see some sites. I'd like to make it to Yellowstone. So far, I was thinking (from Austin) - Roswell, Sedona, Zion, Park City, Yellowstone, Badlands and then head back with a few stops as I head east back to NJ.

This is my first time making a long road trip. Any suggestions on stops, parks, roads, sites?

Also, what should I buy for my rig for the trip? I was thinking basic Rotopax for gasoline, proper Jack, First Aid, Fire Ext., Maxtrax, toe rope/winch strap. I might sleep inside the truck a few days to keep costs down.

Any help from those more experienced would be awesome. Thanks!
Sponsored

kodiakisland

Black Diamond
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
12 Tacoma, 18 Indian, 23 GV70
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

How much off roading are you planning on doing?

OP
OP
broncoSJ

broncoSJ

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

How much off roading are you planning on doing?
I'm interested in doing some easy dirt trails but no rock climbing or crazy stuff. Solo trip.

Rick Astley

Raptor
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
d
Your Bronco Model
Raptor
If you're going north from Texas to Wyoming, assume you'll hit snow.

FWIW, if I was going to hit Zion, I would plan for all 5 major national parks in SE Utah. Our personal ranking from hitting them all was:

1. Bryce
2. Canyonlands
Bonus: Moab!
3. Capitol Reef
4. Zion (assume you won't be doing Angel's Landing in October)
5. Arches

OP
OP
broncoSJ

broncoSJ

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

If you're going north from Texas to Wyoming, assume you'll hit snow.