First Name
JG
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Toyota 4Runner-F250-Tundra
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Finally got a chance to take the Bronco into the dunes and deep sand. My buddy in his F150 Raptor went off a dune and got wedged pretty bad with a steep uphill one way and the dune he went off wedging him in from the rear. He was stuck bad. The Bronco had no issues yanking him out going uphill (no other options). Two quick yanks and he was out. I have some experience in the sand but not with the Bronco and I was sure impressed. Honestly, unless you are in a sand-rail or side by side with paddle tires you can't do much better than the bronco. I never even once felt like traction or floatation was an issue even on some seriously steep dunes.

My best tip is it's better to not get stuck in the first place than having to get unstuck. Do this by going as low on the tire pressure as you feel comfortable. I was at 16 psi but had I felt the need I would have gone as low as 12. My friend in the Raptor was at 20 psi with the same tire size (35's) and had he been lower to begin with may have powered out of his predicament. Also, carry a kinetic rope for yanking people out or even to get yourself pulled out if needed. Traction boards can come in handy also. I usually set-up my Bronco manually and not with goat modes. 4H/rear lockers engaged/traction control off was the best. Just to see how it helped I used the sand goat mode and even baja mode. I really didn't need the high shift points and revving that those modes lock in but if you are new to sand they can help. Only complaint or rather observation is that in the steep dunes it is hard to see over the hood at what is in front of you. Camera helps but the flat color of continuous sand makes depth perception difficult with the camera especially at speed.