First Name
Terry
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 F-150
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
So I am not an electrical engineer by any means. I have a few questions that I would like answers to before I jump into installing a pair of KC lights on the cowl. I bought these lights years ago and don't remember exactly what ones they are, but the come with its own switch and relay. My question is do I need all that extra stuff? Or can I simply cut it off at the relay, connect the two power wires and the two ground wires, connect the power wire to the pre wired aux wire and the ground wire to a ground? Or what do I need to do?
Sponsored

Firefight911

Wildtrak
First Name
Phil
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Bronco 4-door Wildtrak, Eruption Green
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

OP
OP
Get In The Bronco

Get In The Bronco

Badlands
First Name
Terry
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 F-150
Your Bronco Model
Badlands

Firefight911

Wildtrak
First Name
Phil
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

Yes I understand that. But my question is do I just need the red wire and black wire and can I cut off the relay with all of the other wires for the KC provided switch or should I keep those?
You need to review the power draw for the lights you have. If the power draw is less than one of the available circuits in the aux switch panel, a relay is not needed. If your power draw exceeds an available aux switch current rating, then, yes, you will need to keep the relay, tie in to the lowest amperage rated circuit with your relay circuit and run the power directly to the battery.

OP
OP
Get In The Bronco

Get In The Bronco

Badlands
First Name
Terry
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 F-150
Your Bronco Model
Badlands