First Edition
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco
Your Bronco Model
First Edition
Clubs

I had the exact same problem as the OP. Got the "overheated" warning and then got the "Service Required" warning. I took it to Ford for service and they cleared all the error codes and couldn't find anything wrong.

I just got home and noticed the tech wrote on the invoice "highly suspect vehicle being driven with parking brake on causing overheating issue" :rolleyes: Give me a break. I've been driving for 35 years, probably longer than the technician has been alive, and I know how to drive, and I would know (within 3 seconds) if I was attempting to drive with the brake on.
This does not make sense. The parking brake disengages as soon as you start driving. Essentially acting as "hill start assist". I do this all the time. Although I don't know what happens when you pull parking brake button while diving...
Sponsored

da_jokker

Wildtrak
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler JKUR
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

Yeah I believe that you have to pull and hold the handle up for the parking brake to engage while driving (aka emergency brake).

I'd be curious to ask that tech how he thinks you could have possibly turned the parking brake on since it turns itself off, and requires special methods to turn it on while driving.

tractorcrusher

Black Diamond
First Name
Curtis
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Old thread but I just had this happen on my manual 2-door. Have been using the parking brake when out of gear but now the parking brake won't set. I have a call in with the dealership but haven't heard anything yet.

I'm at about 10,7XX miles now.

Has anyone else experienced this and know of another fix?

‘21OBX

Outer Banks
First Name
Ken
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 bronco outer banks
Your Bronco Model
Outer Banks
Clubs