Wildtrak
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Silverado, Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

While cruising around looking at recovery gear options, I came across something I hadn't heard of before. A hitch mounted winch. What are the thoughts on this? Note, I have zero experience with any winch solution and am a noob to off roading in general.

Here is a link to the hitch mount that I stumbled across (winch not included).
https://www.harborfreight.com/12000-lb-winch-hitch-mount-57607.html

Ford Bronco Hitch mounted winch 1682877212121
Sponsored

RustysBronco

Badlands
First Name
Matt "Rusty" R.
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Bronco Badlands Sasquatch
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

"Brought to you by the folks who invented the collapsing jack stand, we now offer you the hitch mounted winch!"

I don't see what could possibly go wrong.

Grumpy

Big Bend
First Name
Who's
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 2dr
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Well I can tell you from experience of a off-road buddy of mine. We were out on the tank trails in Ft. Hood, TX a couple years back and he got mired in some deep mud. He pulled out his portable hitch mount winch for the first time. Everything was fine for about 30sec. After that the winch mounting plate started to bend and was severely distorted. The mounting bucket was not usable from that moment.

OP
OP
fordbroncowildtrak2023

fordbroncowildtrak2023

Wildtrak
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Silverado, Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

Well I can tell you from experience of a off-road buddy of mine. We were out on the tank trails in Ft. Hood, TX a couple years back and he got mired in some deep mud. He pulled out his portable hitch mount winch for the first time. Everything was fine for about 30sec. After that the winch mounting plate started to bend and was severely distorted. The mounting bucket was not usable from that moment.