Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Volvo
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

Hello all.

I installed the K&N Cold Air Intake system on my 22 Wildtrak last weekend. I'm no mechanic, but I am sure I installed it correctly and followed the directions to the tee.

Ever since I installed it, the turbo seems to be way louder, almost like a screeching sound (sound only appears when the turbo is engaged, I checked using the turbo boost option on the dash). However, this could also just be a louder whistle (due to increased/better air flow?). I'm not sure, this is the first car I have owned with a turbo.

Is there a chance something is wrong with the turbo (loose hose, leak, etc.)? I had the intake hose to the turbo off for a while and put painters tape over it while it was exposed, so I don't think anything got into the turbo, but you never know...

Curious if anyone has also installed this intake and had the same experience or not? Or if you have any ideas what the increased noise/screeching could be?

Thanks for any help.
Sponsored

Boreal

Badlands
First Name
Colby
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.cspencephoto.com
Vehicle(s)
2022 Badlands 2DR
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
CAI’s often lead to more “breathing noises”.
If you can share a video of what you are describing, that would help with assessing if there’s an issue or not

SZairborne

Big Bend
First Name
Shayne
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Dodge charger GT AWD
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Clubs

I put one on on my Bronco, you can hear the turbo and the blow off valve. They also mention in the installation instructions that you will hear these noises. Its normal.

Sponsored

robepa

Badlands
First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
Vehicle(s)
2022 Bronco, 2006 Tacoma, 2020 4Runner
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs