Big Bend
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Vintage Motorcycles, F-150, various other
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Clubs

A lot of good info from Pressurized. I'm right with you BB that I plan to upgrade. I will probably go with the 255 80 x 17 Falken or Toyo AT's. I will end up with Load Range E, and run 35ish pounds. They may ride somewhat rougher but my experience with E's is they are pretty indestructible off road and VERY puncture resistant. If there was a 265 75 x 17 I might do that, although owners manual states only 255 width are chainable which is important to me
I did have an old BF Goodrich on my 4runner get punctured one time rolling down a steep incline, and hitting a pyramid shaped rock. I was surprised, but that was decades ago. Since then, I've never punctured a tire, on my F150 in similar terrain. Tires are much better now. I'm sure a C rated will be fine for me.
I'm an engineer, so I think logically I'll be driving the Bronco on roads almost every day. Having a rough ride in several of my vehicles (sports cars, old bikes) I do NOT want that every day. The off chance of being off road 4 hours every month or two....not worth the daily jarring over the horrible roads here (lots of bumps, potholes poorly covered with 2" rise...etc).
Sponsored

Pressurized

Outer Banks
First Name
Rod
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gen 6 Bronco - Jeep JKU - Wrangler LJ (sold)
Your Bronco Model
Outer Banks
A lot of good info from Pressurized. I'm right with you BB that I plan to upgrade. I will probably go with the 255 80 x 17 Falken or Toyo AT's. I will end up with Load Range E, and run 35ish pounds. They may ride somewhat rougher but my experience with E's is they are pretty indestructible off road and VERY puncture resistant. If there was a 265 75 x 17 I might do that, although owners manual states only 255 width are chainable which is important to me