Rockett
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Big Bend
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Clubs

I have a 2022 Big Bend with a 2.3L and "my dealer said" to change my oil every 7500 miles. Is that the right time? I have typically changed at 5000 with my other vehicles, but I haven't had a newer vehicle in a while. I was also wondering about the accuracy/validity of the Ford Pass app. I have 4700 miles and it says my oil life is at 54%. I appreciate any insight.
Sponsored

rtazz17

Banned
Big Bend
Banned
Banned
First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford bronco big bend
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
this is point of contention for many especially "old school" guys. The app is going off a 10k interval which is what I have been doing for about 10 yrs now since using full synthetic. Others cant bare to wait 10k. I will continue doing 10k changes.

Tilzbow

Badlands
First Name
Scott
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GM Sierra Diesel Pick Up
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Oil changes cost Ford, and most other manufacturers nothing, since consumers like us pay for them out of our own pockets. That said if changing your oil more often than at the recommended interval prevented engine wear and damage wouldn’t it make sense that Ford, and other manufacturers, would recommend changing oil more often to prevent engine damage and warranty claims that do cost them money?

So, maybe the dealer is recommending the oil be changed at 7,500 because they do make money from service. Nah, that couldn’t be it….

FurdBroncur

Big Bend
First Name
Noah
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 Ford Focus
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
I have changed the oil once thus far on mine around 6000 miles. I have about 13k on it now and will likely change the oil once it gets cold here.