Sponsored

Are Recovery / Traction Boards Actually Useful?

Haelous

Wildtrak
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT, 2023 Bronco Wildtrak
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
I have read an insane amount of debate on this topic on forums. I've seen many YouTube videos of people reviewing them and using them to free Tacomas, 4Runners, and Wranglers. At the same time, I see people saying they weren't really stuck or just digging and shoving a couple rocks down there is all they needed to do.

I am a novice and it's difficult to know if these are worth investing in, and to what degree, ex: X-Bull / Bunker / Maxsa vs Maxtrax / Actiontrax / ARB Tred Pro. My understanding is the latter are good for many uses while the prior are good for a couple uses.

Have people here actually gotten stuck with the Bronco and used recovery boards to get out of:
  • Snow
  • Mud
  • Sand
Could you post any pics/videos?

I apologize if this question seems mildly repetitive. It feels like this topic ends up a bit circular so I'm hoping to avoid that with some evidence.
Sponsored

TEAMSLO

Wildtrak
Threads
Reaction score
Website
youtube.com
Vehicle(s)
23' Bronco 2.7 4d Oxford White & 22' JLURD
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
I have used recovery boards when I was with a volunteer off road recovery group. Actually 3x in one day, one from sand, another for 2 rigs stuck mid way down a hill that I did not want to venture down, nor did I have a winch line long enough.

For simple pulls, I will always just do that, I rarely carry recovery boards with me any longer. They would be handy with doubling up and possibly crossing something questionable, or in snow/terrain that is hard to reach with another vehicle.

Also, if using recovery boards in snow or sand, make sure to use a leash, ask me how I know LOL.

EDIT - forgot to mention, very useful if you happen to wheel alone. Not going to preach about this as Im an offender as well at times.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Haelous

Haelous

Wildtrak
Threads