Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Bronco Outer Banks Sasquatch
Your Bronco Model
Outer Banks
Hello Everyone,

Long time reader and first time poster. I have gathered a ton of very useful information on this forum, so thought it was time for me to contribute back hoping my feedback will help at least one person make an informed tire decision.

I just replaced the stock OEM GY Territories with the MT Baja Legend EXP Tires at 32,000 miles. I bought my soft top equipped Outer Banks Sas used at 17,000 miles. I am also a ranch real estate broker in north Texas, so I put a lot of miles on my vehicles including highway, city, gravel roads, rocky roads, mesquite thorn pastures, mud, and rain/snow...we have a place in remote Colorado as well so I do have a lot of snow driving experience. What I don' t do is rock climbing and drive in the deep sand, so I can't comment on that.

Was growing tired of these gravel chunking and (I think) noisy GY Territories. I know a soft top amplifies the noise as well. I will say they are smooth riding (thanks to C rating I suppose) and drove straight and true down the highway.

Now, for the MT Legends. I am a person who thinks (over thinks) my gear and equipment. I did a lot of forum searching, research, etc before I made my final tire decision. Here is what I was looking for in no particular order::

1. Less noise. I test this empirically using an Apple Watch Ultra and the decibel app. Under the exact same conditions (road near my house, speed, and wind), the GY Territories were right at 70 decibels at 55 mph. The MT Legends were between 64 and 65 decibels. Doesn't seem like a big difference, but it is. You can still hear them, especially with a soft top, but they are noticeably quieter. Before everyone comments, I realize the GY's had 32,000 miles on them when tested, but they were still noisy at 17,000 miles when I bought it used. Only time will tell if the MT's stay quiet with age or not.