Liam
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco Badlands Sasquatch
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Pretty big noob here when it comes to driving on sand, have only done it a couple times in a bronco sport... looking for tips and general info for soft sand driving on Long Island.

Will be taking my 23 Sas Badlands out to the beach soon.

Is it necessary/helpful to air down those 35's and if so to what psi? Was reading about 15-20 would be beneficial.... Obviously will put into sand drive mode as well...

Was also looking for any tips on aftercare after taking on the beach, mostly on dry sand. Is there specific gear I should get to clean the bottom after? I know the salts not too good for the metal and want to make sure I keep the under parts in top condition. Or do I need to take it in to a shop to get it cleaned out.

Any help would be appreciated!
Sponsored

Desert_Brush

Base
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mini Cooper
Your Bronco Model
Base
Shovel, traction boards, an air compressor, tire deflator kit (18 psi should be enough) and a friend to shovel for you in case you get stuck.

Tex

Wildtrak
First Name
Cliff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

If there's a beach you can drive on, chances are there's going to be a car wash that has a beach/sand/salt/undercarriage wash option that basically just hoses down your undercarriage, no soap or wax. Drive through it twice and you'll still find sand weeks later, but the salt will be very diluted and mostly gone, and that's what you're really after. The sooner you do this, the less chance the salt has to eat your Bronco. Clean the sand off your windshield wipers too, nothing like seeing scratches on a brand new window because sand was caked in the little channels of the wiper.